1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress Cybermorph

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by micromodder, 2 Mar 2012.

1. micromodder

micromodder What's a Dremel?

Hi all,
    This is my first attempt of a pc mod.The inspiration for this build is from 50's retro style space ships with a bit of hot rodding and chopper styling thrown in as well.I will be using a lot of copper and black on the inside of the case with either orange or red windows in the side.This gives me an excuse to use some of the cool natural copper finned heat sinks,cpu coolers and such that are available now.Please excuse the quality of some of the pictures.
    comments,suggestions and feedback both positive and negative are most welcome.Hope you like what I have done so far.
    First the victim err... donor case that I got in a package deal of four cases along with a pile of other parts for $25

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Here I have sketched up a design.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Using sheet styrene to make the basic shape and to give a backing to the original front bezel

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

ABS plastic plumbing fittings are used for ducts for the two 80mm and the 120mm Enermax vegas duo fans.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

The large fan duct was cut down to sort of look like the inverted nose of an F86 Saber jet
    The spinners on the front of the fans are made from Easter eggs from the dollar store.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

All the above parts will be filled in with rigid construction foam and covered with automotive bondo and sanded to the final shapes.

A 200mm red led fan fwill be used in the side.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]