1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Still Active older multiplayer shooters

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by qualalol, 11 Mar 2014.

1. qualalol

qualalol What's a Dremel?

I started playing Wolfenstein Enemy Territory a year or so back, which is the first time I've ever played multiplayer shooters -- it's quite fun, on the other hand it feels slightly dated now, and I'd like to try some new games just to see what there is. I play fairly casually, on average once every two weeks -- sometimes much more often, sometimes not for a month or two.

I see that games like BF4 are all the rage at the moment, however I'm not too keen on running after whatever the latest most popular game happens to be, especially since I'm not playing particularly seriously. I'm after games that have been around for a while, since those ones are likely to be around for quite a while longer so I can play as little or as often as I want without having to buy newer games / relearning games (and buying new hardware to keep up) etc. Ideally I'm after games that allow you to host your own servers (which means the publisher doesn't/can't just shut down the game), which at least BF3 and BF4 wouldn't allow.

So, what slightly older shooters are there that are still popular and as fun as ET, allow you to host your own servers, and would run well on my hardware? Looks like BF2 or BF2142 might be an option, but what are the most active older games still around?

Key hardware info: FX-8350 with a HD7750, @ 1920x1200.

2. Modsbywoz

Modsbywoz Multimodder

Quake Live?

3. SMIFFYDUDE

SMIFFYDUDE Supermodders on my D

Click on Community activity (the wavey graph) on the Steam home page, it will list the most popular games being played on Steam at the moment.

4. suragh

suragh Derp