1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress First ScratchBuild - ECS MODMEN FAT

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by FAT, 16 Jun 2013.

1. FAT

FAT What's a Dremel?

Hi everybody!

My name is Femke Agnes Toele, in short F.A.T. I’m a goldsmith and silversmith by profession and I have a small workshop at home where I can work.

I have a lot of tools at home, and make a lot of things, not only jewellery. I have always been interested in electronics but never really got the chance to master this.
    So when a friend of mine saw the ECS Casemod Contest on the internet, he said that this could be the chance for me to work with both electronics and a nice design.
    I thought; ‘ I’ll give it a try, (not knowing that It would turn out really well : ) !

I went to Computex Taiwan last week to promote my computer with 4 other Modders. Great experience and I won the ‘Viewers Choice’ award on top of that!!

This is my first scratch build. So if you want to see how I made the build.. just scroll down : )

My Mod is called “Little Scratch”, it is a very compact build. The build is 22 cm high and the case around the motherboard is only 19x19cm.
    I made a video for the Contest, if you want to take a look, here is the link:

youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y3jaKuGMuZI

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

BUILD LOG:

I started to make a few designs out of cardboard just to get an idea about the size of the build.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Immediately I noticed that I liked a smaller design. So in the end I didn’t use any of these designs, and I started with someting else.

A friend helped me with the basic computer knowledge and made me some styrofoam blocks in het shape of the MB, PSU, etc. So I could start to puzzel with all of the parts and give them their place in the build.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]