1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Are Entry Level Certifications Worthwhile?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Dae314, 28 May 2013.

1. Dae314

Dae314 What's a Dremel?

I'm speaking specifically about Info Technology type certifications like the low level CompTIA ones (net+, sec+, a+, etc.).

I'm just beginning what will hopefully be a long and fulfilling career in IT, and I'm looking at various certification programs. What I'm finding is making me very hesitant though. I can understand the value of high level certifications like the upper reaches of the Cisco Routing Expert stuff to show that you are an expert in a certain technology, but I just can't see how a low level certification can add value to a person. They almost seem like a badge that says "hey look, I can speak geek." :rolleyes:

I looked at sample questions from the low level CompTIA exams, and while I definitely wouldn't pass the exams if I tried now, I think it has more to do with the terminology they're throwing at me than not knowing the concepts they're testing me on. Shouldn't a college degree and like 4 years of internship experience in various levels of IT support be able to stand up just as well if not better than basic certs like A+? You might not know everything, but you're prepared to learn what you need to know at a basic level with only minimal training are you not?

The other thing that's making me hesitate is the cost of the exam, study materials, and the overall time commitment it will take to pass the exam. Why, after investing so much in a college education and specialization is it necessary to dump even more money and time on proving your worth at such a basic level :eyebrow:?