bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Tech Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd Feb 2017, 04:03   #1
Drachnem
Supermodder
 
Drachnem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 397
Drachnem has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
PC randomly freezes while using SLI (new system)

Hey fellas - Long time no post!

I am in need of some help on a new build. The computer keeps freezing on me, sometimes several times a night. It has happened doing various games and I think once with no games going.

I have looked in the logs and see a "Kernel-Power, event 41, task category 63 error each time.

I just set it up with a clean win10 64bit install, installed some of the drivers for the hardware off MSI's site and a few games and utilities nothing crazy.

Some points:
  1. I have not over clocked yet
  2. Temperatures look fine, even got a new case (TT TheTower 900)
  3. Ran windows memory test, came back no errors
  4. Ran latest updates from windows


PC Build List:
  • 2x Evga 1070 SC in SLI
  • 32 gb DDR4 Cosair Vengance
  • MSI X99A SLI Plus
  • Intel i7-5820K
  • Samsung 950 Pro M.2 256 (OS)
  • Samsung 950 Pro M.2 512 (Games)
  • 2x Samsung 940 Pro 256 SSD
  • 1x Samsung 940 Pro 512 SSD
  • 3x Seagate 3TB in Raid 5 (platter)
  • Evga Supernova 1200 Platinum
  • TT TheTower 900
  • Oculus Rift + Touch +Xbox 1 controller & dongle
  • Dell U3415W (34" curved ultra wide 4k)
  • Have a cosair k70 RGB keyboard, Steel Series R700, and Razer Firefly


Has anyone run into this or know of any possible bugs or next steps for troubleshooting?

Any help is appreciated because right now I'm...


Things I've done to troubleshoot:
  • Ran memory test with no errors
  • Disconnected all optional hardware, everything runs fine until SLI is enabled with two cards
  • Tested each card out, both work without issue until SLI is enabled
  • Upgraded PSU from 850 to 1200 Platinum evga
  • Disabled audio drivers from Nvidia
  • Adjusted power settings
  • Removed motherboard applications
  • Installed Evga professional SLI bridge



At this point I can't think of anything other than the Mobo...Thoughts?
__________________
[TheTower900][i7 5820K][MSI X99 SLI Plus][Cosair Vengeance 32gb][Evga 1070sc 2-way SLI][Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB & 1TB)][3x 3TB HDD][Evga Supernova 1200 PSU][Nzxt Hue +][4x Samsung 950 Pro SSD 1TB][Oculus Rift + Touch][Acer 27 2k Predator & 34 Curved 4k Dell]

Last edited by Drachnem; 24th Feb 2017 at 04:29. Reason: added display
Drachnem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2017, 20:05   #2
Gareth Halfacree
WIIGII!
bit-tech Staff
 
Gareth Halfacree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradford, UK
Posts: 8,620
Gareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming Saiyan
What power supply do you have? That's a lot of hardware, and one of the most common causes of that particular error is a power supply running beyond its limits. Try disconnecting some stuff - one of the GPUs would probably do it - to see if it makes any difference.
__________________
Author, Raspberry Pi User Guide Fourth Edition, 21 Brilliant Projects for the Raspberry Pi and more | gareth.halfacree.co.uk | twitter | keybase.io
bit-tech news correspondent, Custom PC columnist, other things to other people
I'm a filthy freelancer! Hire me! | Need a VPN? Try AirVPN!
Gareth Halfacree is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2017, 21:22   #3
Yadda
Vegan Sandwich
 
Yadda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3,134
Yadda is a Super Spamming SaiyanYadda is a Super Spamming SaiyanYadda is a Super Spamming SaiyanYadda is a Super Spamming SaiyanYadda is a Super Spamming SaiyanYadda is a Super Spamming SaiyanYadda is a Super Spamming SaiyanYadda is a Super Spamming SaiyanYadda is a Super Spamming SaiyanYadda is a Super Spamming SaiyanYadda is a Super Spamming Saiyan
If the above doesn't work, I'd try stripping it back to basics - mobo, CPU, RAM, 1 graphics card and 1 drive - and take it from there.
__________________
Lost a Duff, gained a Charlie.

i5 4690k @ 4.6GHz / ASRock Z97m OC Formula mATX / 2x8GB Crucial Tactical DDR3 @ 2200MHz C10 / EVGA GTX 780 @ 1200/6400MHz / BX100 250GB SSD / Seagate 2TB SSHD / Nepton 240m AIO / EVGA 600B PSU / Corsair Carbide Air 240 / Win10 Home / 1080p monitor / Logitech MOMO wheel
Yadda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2017, 02:16   #4
Drachnem
Supermodder
 
Drachnem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 397
Drachnem has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Is there any log file I can get to help me identify the true issue, don't want to stab in the dark.
__________________
[TheTower900][i7 5820K][MSI X99 SLI Plus][Cosair Vengeance 32gb][Evga 1070sc 2-way SLI][Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB & 1TB)][3x 3TB HDD][Evga Supernova 1200 PSU][Nzxt Hue +][4x Samsung 950 Pro SSD 1TB][Oculus Rift + Touch][Acer 27 2k Predator & 34 Curved 4k Dell]
Drachnem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2017, 02:16   #5
Drachnem
Supermodder
 
Drachnem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 397
Drachnem has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gareth Halfacree View Post
What power supply do you have? That's a lot of hardware, and one of the most common causes of that particular error is a power supply running beyond its limits. Try disconnecting some stuff - one of the GPUs would probably do it - to see if it makes any difference.
Evga Supernova 850 G2
__________________
[TheTower900][i7 5820K][MSI X99 SLI Plus][Cosair Vengeance 32gb][Evga 1070sc 2-way SLI][Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB & 1TB)][3x 3TB HDD][Evga Supernova 1200 PSU][Nzxt Hue +][4x Samsung 950 Pro SSD 1TB][Oculus Rift + Touch][Acer 27 2k Predator & 34 Curved 4k Dell]
Drachnem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2017, 02:25   #6
RedFlames
...is a figment of your imagination
 
RedFlames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The northern wastes of Geordieland
Posts: 7,082
RedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drachnem View Post
I have looked in the logs and see a "Kernel-Power, event 41, task category 63 error each time.
In my experience, that's often [but not always] a sign your PSU is about to kick the bucket. Occasionally it's caused by motherboard power saving measures not kicking in properly or kicking in when they shouldn't so if your motherboard has anything like that, try turning them off.
__________________
Why are you still reading this? The post is over. Go Home.

RedFlames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2017, 02:26   #7
Drachnem
Supermodder
 
Drachnem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 397
Drachnem has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedFlames View Post
In my experience, that's often [but not always] a sign your PSU is about to kick the bucket.
Is there a PSU checking program or anything I could monitor to confirm this?
__________________
[TheTower900][i7 5820K][MSI X99 SLI Plus][Cosair Vengeance 32gb][Evga 1070sc 2-way SLI][Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB & 1TB)][3x 3TB HDD][Evga Supernova 1200 PSU][Nzxt Hue +][4x Samsung 950 Pro SSD 1TB][Oculus Rift + Touch][Acer 27 2k Predator & 34 Curved 4k Dell]
Drachnem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2017, 02:27   #8
Drachnem
Supermodder
 
Drachnem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 397
Drachnem has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Been reading up a bit, and some claim to have similar issues due to SLI being enabled ...
__________________
[TheTower900][i7 5820K][MSI X99 SLI Plus][Cosair Vengeance 32gb][Evga 1070sc 2-way SLI][Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB & 1TB)][3x 3TB HDD][Evga Supernova 1200 PSU][Nzxt Hue +][4x Samsung 950 Pro SSD 1TB][Oculus Rift + Touch][Acer 27 2k Predator & 34 Curved 4k Dell]
Drachnem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2017, 02:29   #9
Drachnem
Supermodder
 
Drachnem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 397
Drachnem has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedFlames View Post
In my experience, that's often [but not always] a sign your PSU is about to kick the bucket.
I should note I have the computer on a large APC unit as well.


I did find an article that mentioned what you said too...hmm


http://www.tomshardware.com/faq/id-3...nel-power.html
__________________
[TheTower900][i7 5820K][MSI X99 SLI Plus][Cosair Vengeance 32gb][Evga 1070sc 2-way SLI][Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB & 1TB)][3x 3TB HDD][Evga Supernova 1200 PSU][Nzxt Hue +][4x Samsung 950 Pro SSD 1TB][Oculus Rift + Touch][Acer 27 2k Predator & 34 Curved 4k Dell]
Drachnem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2017, 02:32   #10
RedFlames
...is a figment of your imagination
 
RedFlames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The northern wastes of Geordieland
Posts: 7,082
RedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drachnem View Post
Is there a PSU checking program or anything I could monitor to confirm this?
None that are especially reliable iirc. They tend to be not that accurate and if it is a power problem the system usually keels over before the utility registers or can alert you to a problem.
__________________
Why are you still reading this? The post is over. Go Home.

RedFlames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2017, 03:03   #11
Drachnem
Supermodder
 
Drachnem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 397
Drachnem has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Ah. I have a lot hooked up, maybe its running out of power then?

4 SSDs
2 M2s
3 HDD
2 1070s
Oculus Rift
Keyboard, Mouse, Pad (all light up)
__________________
[TheTower900][i7 5820K][MSI X99 SLI Plus][Cosair Vengeance 32gb][Evga 1070sc 2-way SLI][Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB & 1TB)][3x 3TB HDD][Evga Supernova 1200 PSU][Nzxt Hue +][4x Samsung 950 Pro SSD 1TB][Oculus Rift + Touch][Acer 27 2k Predator & 34 Curved 4k Dell]
Drachnem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2017, 03:07   #12
Drachnem
Supermodder
 
Drachnem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 397
Drachnem has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Does this info help?





since images aren't working for me...
http://imgur.com/jJ8Tw6U
http://imgur.com/Q4XwnZ5
__________________
[TheTower900][i7 5820K][MSI X99 SLI Plus][Cosair Vengeance 32gb][Evga 1070sc 2-way SLI][Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB & 1TB)][3x 3TB HDD][Evga Supernova 1200 PSU][Nzxt Hue +][4x Samsung 950 Pro SSD 1TB][Oculus Rift + Touch][Acer 27 2k Predator & 34 Curved 4k Dell]
Drachnem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2017, 04:11   #13
Drachnem
Supermodder
 
Drachnem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 397
Drachnem has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Was thinking maybe its not enough power...

Part Max Power
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC GAMING ACX 3.0 170
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC GAMING ACX 3.0 170
Intel Core i7-5820K (3.3GHz/4.3GHz) 339
Drives x9 50
Fans x5 25
Cooler 10
Ram 1.49x8 12
LED strip 2
USB 10

Total of 788 W
__________________
[TheTower900][i7 5820K][MSI X99 SLI Plus][Cosair Vengeance 32gb][Evga 1070sc 2-way SLI][Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB & 1TB)][3x 3TB HDD][Evga Supernova 1200 PSU][Nzxt Hue +][4x Samsung 950 Pro SSD 1TB][Oculus Rift + Touch][Acer 27 2k Predator & 34 Curved 4k Dell]
Drachnem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Feb 2017, 09:35   #14
Hawkest_83
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 30
Hawkest_83 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I'd go back to basics too.. Update bios, minimum ram, one guy and minimum number of drives you can get away with. Stress test and keep adding till you get to the problem.... Ps that's a mighty pc...
Hawkest_83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Feb 2017, 17:24   #15
Drachnem
Supermodder
 
Drachnem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 397
Drachnem has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkest_83 View Post
I'd go back to basics too.. Update bios, minimum ram, one guy and minimum number of drives you can get away with. Stress test and keep adding till you get to the problem.... Ps that's a mighty pc...
Thanks and I was hoping logs of the errors could tell me without shooting in the dark. My leading suspicion at this time is putting my power usage over 80%.

I'll have to check the bios for updates.
__________________
[TheTower900][i7 5820K][MSI X99 SLI Plus][Cosair Vengeance 32gb][Evga 1070sc 2-way SLI][Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB & 1TB)][3x 3TB HDD][Evga Supernova 1200 PSU][Nzxt Hue +][4x Samsung 950 Pro SSD 1TB][Oculus Rift + Touch][Acer 27 2k Predator & 34 Curved 4k Dell]
Drachnem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Feb 2017, 18:54   #16
wolfticket
Downwind from the bloodhounds
 
wolfticket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 2,428
wolfticket is a Super Spamming Saiyanwolfticket is a Super Spamming Saiyanwolfticket is a Super Spamming Saiyanwolfticket is a Super Spamming Saiyanwolfticket is a Super Spamming Saiyanwolfticket is a Super Spamming Saiyanwolfticket is a Super Spamming Saiyanwolfticket is a Super Spamming Saiyanwolfticket is a Super Spamming Saiyanwolfticket is a Super Spamming Saiyanwolfticket is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Could be the UPS or the power from the wall causing problems rather than the PSU itself. Maybe try without the UPS and in a different socket if you haven't already.
__________________
Wolfticket: Ambitious but rubbish

"A facility for quotation covers the absence of original thought."
Dorothy L. Sayers (1893 - 1957)
wolfticket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Feb 2017, 02:40   #17
Drachnem
Supermodder
 
Drachnem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 397
Drachnem has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfticket View Post
Could be the UPS or the power from the wall causing problems rather than the PSU itself. Maybe try without the UPS and in a different socket if you haven't already.
So I updated the BIOS and removed one video card, and all but two drives (m.2 and m.2 in pcie) and so far so good. Will add in a part tomorrow and see if it's still good.
__________________
[TheTower900][i7 5820K][MSI X99 SLI Plus][Cosair Vengeance 32gb][Evga 1070sc 2-way SLI][Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB & 1TB)][3x 3TB HDD][Evga Supernova 1200 PSU][Nzxt Hue +][4x Samsung 950 Pro SSD 1TB][Oculus Rift + Touch][Acer 27 2k Predator & 34 Curved 4k Dell]
Drachnem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Feb 2017, 07:07   #18
LennyRhys
Fan Fan
 
LennyRhys's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 5,423
LennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Do you have a power meter so that you can measure power draw at the wall? I'm not convinced insufficient power is your problem as I've run a FAR more power-hungry setup than yours on a 775W PSU without issues... and that's with over clocking and benching, which draws more power than casual gaming or general daily use.

If it was me in your situation I'd get a power meter for a few bucks and get a concrete figure for your power draw in a typical usage scenario. For me with two 480s in SLI it was well below 700W, and that was on X58 which absolutely hogs the power.
__________________
i7 5820K | MSI X99A Gaming 7 | 32GB Ballistix Sport | EVGA GTX980Ti SC | Corsair RM550 | Dell U3014
LennyRhys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Feb 2017, 22:31   #19
Drachnem
Supermodder
 
Drachnem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 397
Drachnem has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by LennyRhys View Post
Do you have a power meter so that you can measure power draw at the wall? I'm not convinced insufficient power is your problem as I've run a FAR more power-hungry setup than yours on a 775W PSU without issues... and that's with over clocking and benching, which draws more power than casual gaming or general daily use.

If it was me in your situation I'd get a power meter for a few bucks and get a concrete figure for your power draw in a typical usage scenario. For me with two 480s in SLI it was well below 700W, and that was on X58 which absolutely hogs the power.
I have a meter but would need some guidance on how to do this. One of the things I noticed is my PSU is single rail, could that be an issue?
__________________
[TheTower900][i7 5820K][MSI X99 SLI Plus][Cosair Vengeance 32gb][Evga 1070sc 2-way SLI][Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB & 1TB)][3x 3TB HDD][Evga Supernova 1200 PSU][Nzxt Hue +][4x Samsung 950 Pro SSD 1TB][Oculus Rift + Touch][Acer 27 2k Predator & 34 Curved 4k Dell]
Drachnem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Feb 2017, 22:51   #20
LennyRhys
Fan Fan
 
LennyRhys's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 5,423
LennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming Saiyan
To be honest, I don't think you need to worry about measuring your power. I'm currently running my 5820K at 4.5GHz and I've been crunching 3D renders most of today, and the power draw at the wall for the entire system is sitting at around 220W. There is simply no way in hell that your system is drawing anywhere near the 850W rating of your PSU. I haven't done any heavy gaming with my X99 system but with my X58 system and the 980Ti (heavily overclocked) I was pulling around 440W at the wall during the Firestrike bench.

Re. single rail, definitely not a problem - it's actually a hallmark of top quality PSU.

If your problem is PSU related then it's due to a fault, not insufficient power. I hope RedFlames is wrong that your PSU could be dying, but it's a possibility.
__________________
i7 5820K | MSI X99A Gaming 7 | 32GB Ballistix Sport | EVGA GTX980Ti SC | Corsair RM550 | Dell U3014
LennyRhys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:29.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.