bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th Apr 2017, 16:10   #1
sotu1
Ex-Modder
 
sotu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bournemouth and London
Posts: 2,877
sotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
Help upgrade my PC! It's been a while!

Hi guys, it's been a while since A) I upgrade my PC and B) since I last visited these forums! (moved country 3 years ago and haven't really done much PC gaming- sad times!)

Anyways, it's now been so long skeletons are forming in my head and I can't even remember if I have DDR3 or 4 in my rig, and PU: Battleground is running slower than a slideshow, and my technical knowledge is......well I've forgotten everything.

I'm off to Hong Kong this weekend and am looking to replace my gear for what's in the Bittech Buyers guide. Parts that probably need replacing are:

MOBO
RAM
GPU (current GPU was bought for Battlefield 3....THREE!)

So my questions are: My CPU is an intel i5 (bought in the last 2 years) so probably ok.

First off, how do I check what RAM I have and if I need a RAM upgrade?
Second, anything I should be aware of in terms of hardware compatability?

Cheers

Sotu
__________________
Still alive
sotu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2017, 16:35   #2
RedFlames
...is a figment of your imagination
 
RedFlames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The northern wastes of Geordieland
Posts: 7,077
RedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotu1 View Post
First off, how do I check what RAM I have and if I need a RAM upgrade?
Second, anything I should be aware of in terms of hardware compatability?
Any half-decent utility like CPU-Z will tell you what you have, but if it's Haswell [4xxx] or older it'll be DDR3, DDR4 if it's skylake [6xxx] or newer.
__________________
Why are you still reading this? The post is over. Go Home.

RedFlames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2017, 17:28   #3
Arboreal
I *am* a Dremel
 
Arboreal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The basement, Gershon's Haus of Sausage
Posts: 1,572
Arboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Welcome back semi-local Bit Techer!
There's a couple of us in Bournemouth, and TMDD until he emigrated to the USofA.

I've found Piriform's Speccy good for seeing what's in your PC - they're the same people that did Ccleaner.

If you've got a Haswell (4xxx) i5 on 8 or 9 series Intel chipsets, it's still pretty strong.
There have been 2 newer generations, Skylake and Kabylake, but the incremental IPC is not huge. What you have gained are new toys on the motherboard: USB 3.1, M.2 slots [fast NVME storage] and latterly, RGB LIGHTING!

Graphics cards have come on well, and the Nvidia 10xx cards are great and power efficient.
AMD's Polaris cards 4xx and now 5xx are good too, but not as efficient and the higher level 1080 and 1080 Ti beat everything pretty much

HTH
Arboreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2017, 05:48   #4
sotu1
Ex-Modder
 
sotu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bournemouth and London
Posts: 2,877
sotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
Thanks guys. Do you think I can get away with just upgrading the graphics card and nothing else?
__________________
Still alive
sotu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2017, 07:47   #5
oasked
Stuck in the Mud
 
oasked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London
Posts: 4,006
oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotu1 View Post
Thanks guys. Do you think I can get away with just upgrading the graphics card and nothing else?
Probably, yes.

Although we haven't seen your system specs so it is hard to judge!

There hasn't been much progress in CPUs over the last few years, and as long as you've got 8Gb or more you'll have enough for games!

Personally I'd look for a GTX 1070 or GTX 1080 in Hong Kong and leave it at that.
__________________
Intel i7 7700k | 32GB Corsair DDR4 3200 | Gigabyte Z270-HD3P | Crucial M500 480Gb
Palit nVidia GTX1080 | Fractal Design R5 | Corsair CX600M | Dell 2408WFP
oasked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2017, 08:57   #6
sotu1
Ex-Modder
 
sotu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bournemouth and London
Posts: 2,877
sotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
It was an i5 (forget the model)
8gb ddr3
Radon 6900
Corsair m4 SSD
Mobile I can't remember
__________________
Still alive
sotu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2017, 09:53   #7
Arboreal
I *am* a Dremel
 
Arboreal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The basement, Gershon's Haus of Sausage
Posts: 1,572
Arboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotu1 View Post
It was an i5 (forget the model)
8gb ddr3
Radon 6900
Corsair m4 SSD
Mobile I can't remember
Not knowing what the i5 makes it a bit tricky.
If it's i5 6xx or i57xx, you probably need a new board and CPU
If it's from the next generation onward, i5 2xxx or i5 3xxx, you still have some mileage left in the system.

If you look at this chart, your Radeon HD 6950/6970 in teh right hand colum is some way down the ranking.
Conventional wisdom (from Tomshardware, the creators of the chart) says that you need to get a GPU at least 3 lines up the chart to get an appreciable gain in performance.

Oasked what spot on with the GPU recommendation, a GTX 1070 will be way better than your HD69x0 card, and still more power efficient than most AMD cards.
Depending on your requirements - 1080 gaming? An AMD RX480 would be potentially good too at less money, but may stretch your PSU more.
Arboreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 00:15   #8
RagingMadman
Multimodder
 
RagingMadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South-West Michigan - US
Posts: 189
RagingMadman is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.RagingMadman is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.RagingMadman is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.RagingMadman is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.RagingMadman is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.RagingMadman is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.RagingMadman is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.RagingMadman is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.RagingMadman is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.RagingMadman is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.RagingMadman is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by oasked View Post

There hasn't been much progress in CPUs over the last few years, and as long as you've got 8Gb or more you'll have enough for games!

Personally I'd look for a GTX 1070 or GTX 1080 in Hong Kong and leave it at that.
^ agreed

So, if the system was built 2 years ago on an i5 platform I would say the CPU and MOBO are probably fine. DDR4 wasn't a thing but for 2011 socket types 2 years ago IIRC. That leaves you simply upgrading GPU to a 1060 or better. Aside from that, I wouldn't stress anything as PUBG is poorly optimized. Kinda like dayz and everything else built off of the arma platform. Optimization isn't really the strong point of that platform. i7 5820k & GTX 1080 and the game gets choppy for me still.
__________________
Corsair 550D | ASUS Deluxe X99 | Intel i7 5820k | Corsair H100i | 16GB G.Skill | 2x ASUS GTX 780 DIRECTCUII SLI | EVGA G2 1300W | 500G Samsung 840 EVO | 1TB WD Black | 2TB WD Black
My baby
RagingMadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 08:19   #9
Zoon
Hunting Wabbits since the 80s
 
Zoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Somewhere near a dremel in Bristol
Posts: 3,664
Zoon is definitely a rep cheat.Zoon is definitely a rep cheat.Zoon is definitely a rep cheat.Zoon is definitely a rep cheat.Zoon is definitely a rep cheat.Zoon is definitely a rep cheat.Zoon is definitely a rep cheat.Zoon is definitely a rep cheat.Zoon is definitely a rep cheat.Zoon is definitely a rep cheat.Zoon is definitely a rep cheat.
I'm still very happily using an i7 2600 (non-K) with 12GB ram. I just keep graphics card up to date.

I second/third getting a GTX 1070 or GTX 1080 and *maybe* a bigger PSU - I'd suggest 800watt and try for a silver or even gold efficiency for stability and quiet running.
__________________
Datacentre architect and engineer extraordinaire. On my good days.

Click me for a signup bonus on TopCashBack. Got any car or home insurance coming up soon? I got 65 cashback on the two last year
Zoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 09:27   #10
Anfield
Mod Master
 
Anfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,226
Anfield is a Super Spamming SaiyanAnfield is a Super Spamming SaiyanAnfield is a Super Spamming SaiyanAnfield is a Super Spamming SaiyanAnfield is a Super Spamming SaiyanAnfield is a Super Spamming SaiyanAnfield is a Super Spamming SaiyanAnfield is a Super Spamming SaiyanAnfield is a Super Spamming SaiyanAnfield is a Super Spamming SaiyanAnfield is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotu1 View Post
It was an i5 (forget the model)
8gb ddr3
Radon 6900
Corsair m4 SSD
Mobile I can't remember
Going through your old posts it looks like you had posted your specs some time ago:


Quote:
Crucial M4 SSD + 1TB HDD
Radeon 6950, 2GB DDR 5
Intel i5 2500k Sandybridge, LGA 1155
Corsair TX650M PSU
Asus P867 LE
8GB Ram, 1866 speed
Noctua NHU12P SE2

For 1080p:
The Radeon RX480 / RX580 is a little bit more than twice as fast, the 580 is just a rebranded 480 and launched recently, should be possible to find some rebates on the RX480 due to that.
The 580 is a bit too spendy for the performance.
If you want to come over to the green camp the equivalent would be the Geforce 1060.

For 1440p:
The Geforce 1070 is really pretty much the best option, nothing available from the red camp until Vega eventually maybe sooner or later gets released.

I would leave the rest as is for now and aim for an upgrade of everything else at once sometime down the line, because RAM is currently stupidly expensive, you can't really get all the latest toys from a mobo without replacing CPU and RAM and you can't get a modern CPU without replacing mobo and RAM which does require a healthy budget thanks to Intel switching sockets like socks.

The 2500k certainly isn't the fastest CPU any more, but in gaming the graphicscard is mostly the limiting factor anyway, so you can get away with saving up for a while first.
__________________
R7 1800X, ASRock X370 Taichi, 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance 3000 DDR4, ASUS Strix 1080TI OC, 512GB Samsung 950 Pro, 4TB WD Black, EVGA T2 1KW, Lian Li PC-O9WX, EK Supremacy Evo, EK-XRES 140 DDC 3.2, EK-CoolStream PE 360, Ducky Shine 6 (Brown Switches), Logitech G402, AOC U3477PQU (34" 21:9 ftw)
Anfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2017, 00:42   #11
MSHunter
Mod Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,443
MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.
How to get the dxdiag report of your pc: use the search box in your start menu and type "run" then in the box type dxdiag. Yes you want to run it. Then wait for the loading bar to complete and use the option save results as a text file. This file will tell you exactly what hardware you have and the driver dates.

Sent from Bittech Android app
__________________
Caved and bought a Gigabyte P35x V3 gaming laptop.
ex-PC: Silverstone TJ08B-E, 2500K, Corsair H80, 256 GB Samsung 830,GENE-Z , Corsair V. LP 16GB, Gigabyte 1.5GB GTX 580 Super Overclock. U2711
PC Audio: AKG 271 mk II + Samson Go mic. + Asus Xonar D2X
Amp: DENON PMA510AE, Speakers: TANNOY MERCURY F1
MSHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2017, 17:53   #12
sotu1
Ex-Modder
 
sotu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bournemouth and London
Posts: 2,877
sotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
Well I upgraded to a gtx1060 3gb and whoa what a difference. Literally jumped from slideshow at lowest setting to playable at ultra. I'm still **** at the game...

Cheers for the tips. Looking like I'll be gaming for a few more years on this rig!
__________________
Still alive
sotu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2017, 20:07   #13
Arboreal
I *am* a Dremel
 
Arboreal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The basement, Gershon's Haus of Sausage
Posts: 1,572
Arboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Good news, the GTX 1060 is a powerful little beast.

It is a shame that it doesn't help you play better though.
I had a friend who changed gaming mice regularly when he wasn't getting on well in a game - that didn't help really, all it did was empty his wallet.

When I started going to my friend's weekly gaming, my name as 'god I'm crap' - not a lot's changed really if I'm honest
Arboreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:50.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.