1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress Merc Bravo (Merc Beta Modification)

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Toasted Rofls, 18 Jul 2012.

1. Toasted Rofls

Toasted Rofls What's a Dremel?

Merc Bravo

I. Introduction

This is my first post on this website, ever, so I figure I would make it semi-memorable. I'm Toasted Rofls, and over the course of an amount of time that I currently do not know, I will be modding a BitFenix Merc Beta, because I've never done a case mod before and wanted to try it, the case cost $40, I wanted to try watercooling, I wanted an excuse to buy more powertools (I picked up a Dremel 3000 just for this project, holy god this thing is awesome), I wanted to make a LAN box to put my terrible last generation components into (Sabertooth P67, i7-2600K, GTX 570, 8 gigs of 1600 DDR RAM, and an OCZ Vertex 4, just awful :D ), and seriously, why haven't more people asked for handles on a small form factor tower computer? The last case I saw that I really liked with handles that I liked was the Cooler Master Storm Trooper. That is a FULL TOWER case people. A sexy full tower, I may add, but a big heavy full tower none the less. My ideal LAN box would probably be a micro-ATX Antec 1100 with big, beefy handles on it.

I think the core of modding, is that someone looks at something, and says "I wish it had this feature" or "Man, this would be so cool if it was painted green!", and other things like that. Improving upon something to meet your needs. In my case with the BitFenix Merc Beta, I said "Wow, this case would be so much better if I just fabricated a new front panel, heavily modified the roof to make room for watercooling, bolted on handles, completely re-painted the case, added a window, modified the internal structures, and of course, added 4 more fans and LEDs."