1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding Need some modding advice

Discussion in 'Modding' started by atc95, 3 Dec 2012.

1. atc95

atc95 I have the upgrade bug!

Hi guys wondering if you can help,

I plan on modding my xbox 360 elite (currently redundant) into a pc and am struggling with the hardware configurations on it. The intention is to use it as a hybrid between laptop and desktop with the potential for some light gaming eg borderlands 2. I have no experience of modding to date but only need to cut a few blowholes and drill holes for the motherboard standoffs. I have narrowed it down to 2 different hardware specs, which do you think is best?

silverstone 450w sfx psu (modular)
    intel core i3 3220 or amd a10 5800k
    afox radeon hd 7850 lp or integrated
    gigabyte z77n wifi or msi fm2 a75ia
    240gb ssd (mounted in the current elite drive bay)
    2x4gb ddr3

the intel and discrete combo costs around 750 and the trinity combo is only 450 but what is best and also what would you use for cooling.

I have found out that a corsair h60 with a 20mm depth fan will fit or an air cooler up to 65mm preferably with no backplate. I also intend on making a 80 or 92mm blowhole and use 2x60mm fans as exhausts where they currently are on the xbox.

Thanks for the help
    atc95

2. atc95

Ok thanks, I definitely think that the watercooling will work as the airflow isn't good enough in an xbox to get a cooler that can cool either cpu at full load.

The maximum enclosed loop i can get is a 120mm radiator, unless anyone knows of a 140mm enclosed loop, would i get better cooling performance from push pull with 2x 120x120x10mm fans or one 120x120x25mm stock fan on the cooler.

Also If that card doesn't fit despite being low profile I am almost certainly going with the trinity rig as there is not enough space to fit a radiator, psu and gpu all on the same plane.