1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Networks Permissions Problem

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Teknokid, 9 Jul 2014.

1. Teknokid

Teknokid Minimodder

Hi there,

I was wondering if anyone could help me - I'm having a few problems with file permissions.

On my workgroup I have my domain server with a number of shares on - a few of which only want to be accessed by a select few.

I'm on the 'allowed' list, but when I try and access it from my machine it won't let me in. Oddly, when I login to another machine I can access the share without problem.

Even logging into my machine as an administrator I can't get into the share - but I can access the other shares on the server without problem.

If anyone can help me I'd be very grateful!

2. Margo Baggins

Margo Baggins I'm good at Soldering Super Moderator

is the computer you are using on a workgroup or the domain? Or is it all on a domain, with a server also on the domain.

If it's on a workgroup then it should ask you for credentials when you try and connect to the share on the server - does it do that?

how are you accessing the share, with a unc path or mounted as a disk etc.?

3. Teknokid

Teknokid Minimodder

It's not a workgroup at all, sorry for confusing things. The server is the domain host, and the server has the share, which is mounting as a disk.

I hope that makes sense!

4. GeorgeK

GeorgeK Swinging the banhammer Super Moderator

Moved to Tech Support

Are you in a group that doesn't have permissions to this folder which is conflicting with being an individual that is allowed permission? I had a similar issue at work whereby we wanted to deny write permissions to "All Staff" for a particular folder but give me write permissions, however because I was a member of "All Staff" it was creating a conflict.

5. Margo Baggins