1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Development Good ways to learn to code

Discussion in 'Software' started by [PUNK] crompers, 7 Aug 2013.

1. [PUNK] crompers

[PUNK] crompers Dremedial

I'm looking to learn a bit of programming and wondering where is a good place to start? I know a bit of SQL (queries, joins and fairly simple stuff) and dabbled with VB many years ago.

Java would be helpful for my job (I'm a salesforce admin) but I'm really looking for a good (fun if possible) way to learn the basics pretty much from scratch so wondered if its worth trying some python first?

2. RinSewand

RinSewand What's a Dremel?

CodeAcademy are pretty fun for the basics. Enough to give you an intro into a few things anyway, especially Java and web based languages :)

bsp likes this.
  3. Pliqu3011

Pliqu3011 all flowers in time bend towards the sun

I don't know Java (yet), but in my experience learning python is a fun and relatively frustration-less way to learn programming.
    This is a pretty good free and open tutorial, not only to Python, but also to programming concepts in general.

Maybe someone else (who knows more about programming/Java) will tell you that it's better to just start with Java if that's what you want to learn, but in the end I think language is just the tool you're using. Most of the programming happens in your head and that's what you need to train, so starting out with a less complicated language is one hurdle less IMO.

4. Dae314

Dae314 What's a Dremel?

Interpreted scripting languages (e.g. python, ruby) tend to be the easiest to read and easy to do quick projects on. Since stuff like Java and C++ are compiled languages, most people tend to use them less for everyday small projects. However, compiled C++ binaries will work on computers that don't have a C++ compiler installed whereas an interpreted script requires the interpreter to run.