1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Project 1 - A Cardboard PC

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by McINTYRE12, 1 May 2013.

1. McINTYRE12

McINTYRE12 What's a Dremel?

Hello BitTech community ! My name's Kiss Claudiu , I'm from Romania and I'm 15 years old.This is my first project .Making it out of cardboard was decided easily , as I don't have any money for case materials. It's going to be just the case , no hardware , no nothing , as I don't have any money.I had a rough sketch of what I thought it would look like , but it changed a lot , as soon as I'll make another sketch I will post it.I wanted it to look something like the BitFenix Prodigy Arctic White but to be a full ATX case.

BUILD :
    Preparing the basic frame.

[​IMG]

Building the motherboard tray.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Cutting fan holes.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Vetalar

Vetalar *learning english*

i must say that there is couple very inspiring cardboard cases (eg retromod by arg0s). but my cardboard attempt finished in the waste bin :) one must use few layers of box cardboard to achieve structural rigidity of just thin plastic... especially at the angles and fringes... or reinforce with some mesh/thin plastic between layers
    good luck anyway and welcom to BT forums!

3. McINTYRE12

Thanks for commenting Vetalar ! I will use several layers of cardboard and paper on the final layer to be able to paint it . My last attempt of a cardboard pc ended as well in the trash , but I hope this will be different . I'm open to any sugestions , if you have any .Thanks again.

4. Vetalar

Vetalar *learning english*

i'd reinforce all openings with ribs etc. and make as many "rigidity ribs" inside the case as i can. and try to avoid rectangles and long fringes - more bows, arcs etc

5. McINTYRE12