1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Watercooling Hose size water cooling and best case for large internal rad

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Max, 8 Oct 2010.

1. Max

Max What's a Dremel?

Hi guys.

I am new to water cooling and just created my first loop using 1/2" hose, I settled with this due to me thinking " higher water flow = more cooling" I am just wondering what hose diameter you use and if I would notice performance drop if I used a smaller one. 1/2" hose is far to thick for me to manage in my tiny antec 900, also what case would you recommend for a internal 3x120mm rad? Thanks guys.

2. DragunovHUN

DragunovHUN Modder

1/2" hose is mostly for aesthetics as far as i know, your blocks should restrict you more than your tubing.

3. Bing

Bing Every day is a learning day!

Basically, anything massive with a good cooling review. I went for a Cosmos S by Coolermaster. It will easily fit a triple in the roof, a twin or two singles on the rear and another single on the deck; however, I'm yet to venture into custom watercooling, but at least I've got the chassis to do so when the time comes.

There's loads of choice out there though! Look at Antec's bigger stuff, Silverstone, Lian Li... the list is endless.

4. mrbens

mrbens What's a Dremel?

Tube size doesn't make a difference to cooling. In bigger cases 1/2'' tubing looks a lot better but, as you say, is not practical in smaller cases so changing your tubing won't affect your temps.

The TJ07B which I have is great for a rad because it has the bottom chamber for itself and the PSU with grills on each side for the fans to push the heat out sideways.