1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motherboards X79 Motherboard

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by damien c, 25 Mar 2013.

1. damien c

damien c Mad FPS Gamer

Potentially could be upgrading to Sandy Bridge E next week finally, have wanted to since it was released but never really managed to get the funds to cover it.

Now I may have between £650 and £800 next week but not 100% sure yet as I need to wait till I have paid 1 bill before I can know for sure, as the bill may kill my upgrade fully.

I am stuck with a choice of 2 motherboard one that I really want, and one that I may just have to get as a put me on.

I am not good at saving money to be honest as soon as it hit's my hand I want to spend it :(

So basically the board I want is the Rampage IV Extreme because, it will fit in with my plans for my pc later in the year, however if I don't have enough for it I will have to get a cheaper board.

I am looking at the MSI GD45 (8D) which according to reviews is pretty good anyway.

So would you try and save the money to cover getting the Rampage at 1st or would you knowing you struggle to save would you buy the MSI to cover you untill you have the funds for the Rampage board?

2. Guest-44432

Guest-44432 Guest

Asus Rampage IV Extreme. Nuff said! :D

As I have plenty of experience with this board, I can give you plenty of tips. :)

3. xxxsonic1971

xxxsonic1971 W.O.T xxxsonic1971

I have a msi gd458D and not had any problems, it looks cool too! I got mine for £50 from novatech(openbox)

4. damien c

damien c Mad FPS Gamer

I was planning on giving you a shout :thumb: when I got the board eventually.

@ Sonic

Have you overclocked your cpu and if so how did the board handle it and how did you find the bios?