1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding The Beginning of All Things - A Novice Mod.

Discussion in 'Modding' started by joavery, 10 Jul 2009.

1. joavery

joavery Huh. So it CAN burn...

Greetings all. After lurking for some time, and patiently waiting for materials and time to come forth from their protected caves, I am venturing into my first case mod. Suffice it to say however, I have few engineering queries for the experienced out there.

Being an amateur carpenter, I intend to build an antique style desk out of cherry wood. It is a fairly simple desk, with a bank of drawers on each side. The catch being that the left side is not really a bank of drawers at all, rather faux covers housing a monolith of a computer.

The idea that inspired this is that I've never been satisfied with two things in computing:

Temperature
    Dust.

I am making the entire system air tight, in the sense that except for the two square feet of intake on the front, and two square feet of rear exhaust, no air can enter or exit the system. On either side of these intakes will be standardized air filters, with the channels cut to very strict specifications to prevent dust entry.

Water cooling will be combined with large scale fans (so as to create a pressure system encouraging airflow. The entire inside of the case will be lined with aluminum caulked at the seams, with a simple drainage system should the catastrophic happen with water cooling.

I hope I've elucidated my plan well enough to those that can provide help:

The following questions plague me:

What are the static-electricity ramifications of placing insulatory fiber products (the filters) near an electrical system?

With a custom made aluminum shell surrounded by dense cherry wood, will I be in danger of insulating my case too much? I'm hoping to mitigate these effects through dual-system heat cooling and a passive fan system.