1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Networks What Router? (Cable approx. £50)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TrevDX, 27 Oct 2012.

1. TrevDX

TrevDX Ah Who Cares Anyway???

Any suggestions for a new router?

I've been using a Draytek Vigor 2110n for about 3 years (I think) but after it's just taken over an hour to try and access the set-up pages :wallbash: I think it's time for a new one.

Would like to keep it under £50 if possible and I'm on Virgin so cable compatible.

Thanks in advance.

2. modd1uk

modd1uk Multimodder

Going from a draytek to an under £50 router.....wired or wireless ? Either or you will struggle for something decent for that price if wireless.

3. TrevDX

Is it going to be best then if I just replace the Draytek like for like?

I need wireless for tablet/phone unfortunately.

4. modd1uk

modd1uk Multimodder

Draytek are very good quality routers, be a bit more than £50 to replace it ;).

5. faugusztin

faugusztin I *am* the guy with two left hands

What are the requirements ?
    Input bandwidth (do you need a gigabit router) ?
    Internal interface (do you need gigabit or not) ?
    What WiFi standard (g ? 2.4ghz n ? 5ghz n ? 450mbps n ? 600mbps n ? 900mbps n? 1300mbps n ?)

6. MSHunter

MSHunter Minimodder

some thing from Cisco.
    Best to use Virgin box in modem mode and an external router like the E4200.

7. TrevDX

Yeah I think this cost me £100 at the time but if I'm going to be better of spending a bit more then I will. I was hoping to get away with not much of an impact on performance for alot less money given how long I've had mine.

As for requirements I run 4 computers (well 2 PC's, 360 & PS3), I have 100mb service from VM which is another excuse for the upgrade as I'm sure my 2110n only does 100mb. On wireless just need an N connection really.

8. faugusztin