1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Peripherals Logitech G602 Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Unicorn, 14 Sep 2013.

1. Unicorn

Unicorn Uniform November India

[​IMG]

After what seems like a lifetime, I am considering a change in gaming mouse. My Logitech G5 has served me well for the better part of 8 years now, and I am considering a change only because I have started playing BF3 recently. I feel that the additional buttons of the G602 might be useful, and also that wireless would be a nice upgrade now that Logitech have apparently cracked the battery life, report rate and wireless reception.

This is not a decision that I will take lightly. I love the weight, shape and overall feel of the G5 - like I said, I've been using it for almost 8 years and it has practically become an extension of my hand, especially when I'm gaming. I don't need to change, but I'm considering it for the above reasons.

I was advised to hold off on buying a G500S at the end of August because Logitech were coming out with something new and spectacular, and the G602 is what they were talking about. Right off the bat I have to say that I'm sceptical. The shape worries me, It's a very wide mouse with that thumb rest, and I've already got an MX Laser 1000 here with the same style of rest which is comfortable to use as a general ergonomic computer mouse, but which I moved away from as a gaming mouse for the more sleek and slender shape of the G5 all those years ago.

What does everyone think? I know that I'll have to get my hands on one to tell if I could adapt to it as a suitable successor to my beloved G5. I use the word successor because I don't think it can ever truly be replaced. It may be basic by today's standards, but it was one of the first gaming mice ever produced and I believe it's still one of the best.