1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Planning [Project Log] The Hive - AM1 [Scratch Build] HTPC

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Impatience, 11 Apr 2014.

1. Impatience

Impatience Minimodder

Right, starting a project log.. I've read the sticky and looking at other peoples logs I have a good idea as what to do.

Starting off, here's a little about me! My name's Robert/Rob/Bob/Whatever, i'm 19 and recently i've built my first PC! It's a "Very low budget" gaming PC, by comparison to many of the beautiful build logs i've been reading. (It only cost me £450. Untill I started playing with lighting and the fans..) The only problem now is i've caught the bug for building and modding!

So that's the past and that leads us neatly to The Hive! "The Hive?" I hear nobody say, "Whats that?" Well, The Hive is a concept i've had for a while now and I feel it's time to try my hand at building another PC.. This time from scratch.

The idea behind this build is that (Apart from my Gaming/DJ desk) the TV is one of the main social areas of my shared student house. So therefore the PC should be there, to let films be watched and music played etc.. This hub of activity would have data coming from other PC's, the internet and DVD/Blurays and that made me think of it as a beehive! With all the bees being the data going in and out of "The Hive".

If you haven't realised already, this is a Scratch Build HTPC that is going to look a *bit* like a beehive. As i'm on a limited budget, parts needed to be cheap and the cooling requirements minimal.

So far i've got a load of MDF for the case and have made myself a true modder by buying a Dremel and bits for it. :dremel: I've also bought a cheapie (read, £20) 32Gb SSD for storage, 2Gb RAM from an old PC and a 300w SFX PSU. For CPU and Mobo i'm planning on using an AMD 5350 APU and the ASUS AM1M-A mATX motherboard, which should both be arriving soonish.