1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Redirecting a web page

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by SeT, 25 Jun 2010.

1. SeT

SeT What's a Dremel?

I've been searching the majority of the morning and haven't been able to come up with a way to do this. Does anyone know if it is possible to redirect a sub URL of a web page. What I mean is, say someone on my computer goes to espn.com. Fine. I don't mind that. But what if they go to. espn.com/blahblah. I want to redirect that to another page. Either locally stored or online doesn't matter, it only needs to happen on one computer. Is this possible?

2. notatoad

notatoad pretty fing wonderful

SeT likes this.
  3. SeT

SeT What's a Dremel?

looks more complicated than I was thinking but that should do the trick. Thanks!

4. sandys

sandys Multimodder

5. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

This is what you're after:

<meta HTTP-EQUIV="REFRESH" content="0; url=http://www.site.com">

Alternatively, you can set it in your host's cpanel.

thehippoz likes this.
  6. notatoad

i think you guys might have misunderstood the question. those will redirect the page for everybody and require you to have admin access to the site in question. i think the OP is just trying to block a site on his computer.

7. tominated

tominated What's a Dremel?

wouldn't you do something like what SeT wants in the hosts file?

8. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

Ah, yeah i don't think he actually owns the sites he want to redirect.

I *think* you can do it in the hosts files, i do use windows any more and i can't remember what the hosts files config is but it's something like:

site.com 127.0.0.1

9. SeT

SeT What's a Dremel?

The hosts file will not work. It would work if I wanted to completely block the entire domain site.com but I want to be able to access site.com, just not site.com/url. Also, I do not own the site in question so the html redirect will not work.