1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice New Build For Gaming & Audio Production

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dramatik, 9 Feb 2011.

1. dramatik

dramatik Minimodder

Hey guys, this is my first post on bit-tech and whilst I'm not new to computers, I am new to them when it comes to building a custom rig (this is gonna be my first one!). My budget is £1000 (Or Slightly over) and I've got a list sorted out already, would just like some feedback on the parts I'm looking to purchase. I will overclock the GPU & CPU at some point too. Main use will be for music production and some pretty hardcore gaming @ 1920x1200. Will probably crossfire the GPU at some point in the future aswell

-----Owned-----

Motherboard: Gigabyte X58a UD3r

-----Ebuyer-----
    GPU: XFX HD 6950 2GB GDDR5 Dual DVI HDMI Dual DP Out PCI-E Graphics Card £219.99

Speakers: Logitech Z506 5.1 Surround Sound Speakers 75W RMS £75.98

Hard Drive 1 Samsung HD103SJ Spinpoint F3 1TB Hard Drive SATAII 7200rpm 32MB Cache £39.99

Hard Drive 2 Western Digital WD5000AADS 500GB Hard Drive SATAII 32MB Cache - £29.99
    -----Scan-----
    Case: Cooler Master 922 HAF £78.95

CPU: Intel i7-940 Quad-Core Processor £179.00

Optical Drive - Sony AD-7263S-0B - £16.67

PSU: Corsair CMPSU-750HXUK HX 750W Modular Power Supply £110

Ram: Corsair Memory XMS3 6GB DDR3 1600 Mhz CAS 9 Triple Channel Desktop £63.79

Cooler: Prolimatech Megahalems £43.18

Fans: 120mm Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Cooling Fan x2 £12.84 Each

Fan Clips: Prolimatech Megahalem 12025 fan wire clips £3.47

Total £960.89

Last edited: 14 Feb 2011
  2. dramatik

dramatik Minimodder

anybody?????? :(

3. bluespider42

bluespider42 Minimodder

For a x58 build you want triple channel memory and if you're overclocking I'd get 1600Mhz RAM, 6GB/s hard disk aren't worth it, I'd get a better quality pair of stereo monitors if you're into music production.