1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Tempered glass screen protectors

Discussion in 'General' started by ElThomsono, 29 Apr 2017.

1. ElThomsono

ElThomsono Multimodder

Why did no-one tell me?

I've had an Xperia Z5 for 18 months now, with the supplied matt plastic screen protector on it the whole time. I dropped it in a beer garden (not sure how?) and I replaced it with a tempered glass one that someone recommended.

It's like night and day, the clarity is amazing, colours seem better too. Fair enough you get a little bit of reflection and it sits less subtly on the device, but it's like having a new phone!

Anyone got any comments on these? Are they any good at protecting from impact?

2. Dopeyman

Dopeyman Minimodder

I've been using them for a while. I'm a farmer so phones get a lot of abuse with dust and being knocked around.
    They never scratch and last for ages. I do find that they sometimes crack so I just replace.
    They normally last me 3-6 months. Will never go back

3. Darkwisdom

Darkwisdom Level 99 Retro Nerd

I've used them for years. Those thin plastic things don't really protect from anything except thin scratches.

I recommend spending a little more and getting one made from Gorilla Glass. You can smack those things with a hammer and they won't break. I believe there's a LinusTechTips video where they put one on an iphone and kicked it about and there was barely a scratch.

4. David

David μoʍ ɼouმ qᴉq λon ƨbԍuq ϝʁλᴉuმ ϝo ʁԍɑq ϝμᴉƨ

I've used them for the last couple of years - I won't use anything else now.

5. ElThomsono

ElThomsono Multimodder

Spreadie?

I got one of these, £3 delivered and although not a perfect fit for the phone, pretty damn close.

Thoroughly impressed, good to know it's likely to do its job :)

6. Otis1337

Otis1337 aka - Ripp3r

There a con. Gorilla glass front on is much harder than the fragile super thin tempered glass.