1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress Project "Insanity" (Corsair 800D - Dual Loop Water-Cooled System)

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by drlawyer, 6 Aug 2012.

1. drlawyer

drlawyer What's a Dremel?

Greetings all.

I'm new to the bit-tech forum, but wanted to share the water-cooled / minor mod project I've been working on over the past year or so. This is my first water-cooled system after assembling my own machines for the past decade or so. Still technically a "work-in-progress", but it is entering the home stretch (at least as to the original concept).

Let me start by saying, for anyone starting a project log, read this great article that the moderators provided: http://www.bit-tech.net/modding/2007/09/17/zen_and_the_project_log/1

I read it after I started this one, and blushed a bit at how many gaffs I committed. Now I'm going back through and trying to make my log less cumbersome, neater, cleaner (hey, just like my build!)

I call this one a "minor mod" because all I have really done to modify the case from its stock condition is remove the lower HDD cage to facilitate installation of a 120.2 radiator to cool the GPA array. However, water cooling is its own form of modding (to the uninitiated, anyway) and I did mod the video cards, so that has to count for something, right?

This particular build has been through three versions - the first two, I'll call "rough drafts". I'm going to mostly skip them for this thread, and stick to putting together a log of the most current build. For comparison's sake, here are a couple of example pictures of my first "drafts":

Version 1:
    [​IMG]

Version 2:
    [​IMG]

Even this "third" version has had some "sub" versions. For example, I originally had dual Radeon HD 5870 cards installed (featuring Danger Den DD-Summit water blocks), a Danger Den clear acrylic CPU block, and a Corsair HX1000 PSU.

[​IMG]