1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Arch AutoCAD user practicing Inventor. Any good books/training materials out there?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Neogumbercules, 12 May 2013.

1. Neogumbercules

Neogumbercules What's a Dremel?

Hey there! So I'm a (novice) AutoCAD user by profession, architectural. In my area there's been a lot more demand for mechanical Solidworks/Inventor drafters lately :grr:

I have no training or experience in Inventor but I decided to use my Autodesk Education Community account to give 2013 a go. First thought... wow this is different! Anyway, I'm still slowly learning (Inventor seems to be about 1000x more complicated than AutoCAD!). I wanted to practice assemblies using multiple parts and decided to crap out a PS4 mock-up and see what I can do with nothing but a few hours practice and a couple of Youtube vids.

Any drafters out there that can recommend some good books/training materials for Inventor? I'd love to dig deeper into this program.

Anyway, here's what I managed to "invent" :thumb:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Burnout21

Burnout21 Mmmm biscuits

I prefer Solidworks, I gave Autocad a go for about a year back in 2007 and basically realised that Solidworks would be better for myself as an Industrial Designer, never looked back.

I think the boom in the requirement for Solidworks/Inventor Drafters is down to recruiters "thinking" that it what is required now.

3. ferret141

ferret141 Minimodder

If you're an alumni at your college you could probably go back and browse their library.

4. bigkingfun

bigkingfun Tinkering addict

AutoCAD to Solidworks convert speaking.
    Coming from AutoCAD is a big step, but SolidWorks has a really good library of tutorials built in. It would surprise me if Inventer did not?

5. Neogumbercules