1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress New build batmobile computer ITX build

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by yericl, 6 Jul 2014.

1. yericl

yericl What's a Dremel?

Hi guys,

Finally finish it and effectively not every component is brand new, I am not a computer gamer, cut down cost is first thing. But I am a big fan of comics and this old batmobile is my collection. When I was fixing it, I came to realise that I could put computer parts in this old toy and then I started assembling a special batmobile-computer.

[​IMG]

To begin with, I emptied the inner parts of this batmobile. I added many LED colour lights to it without decreasing the strength of the structure

[​IMG]

I am not good at printing,so the worn bits on the surface were re-polished with carbon-fibre skin stickers.
    [​IMG]

I removed any redundant parts on the inner chasis and installed the power/restart button. Indicator lights are installed for this button as well as the hard drive.
    [​IMG]

To make space for the msata hard disk, I emptied the rear of the chassis. An iron plate was also added to enhance the strength of the chassis.
    [​IMG]

Due to the lack of space at the sides and rear, I could only weld wires for connecting the hard disk at the bottom of the motherboard. Same for HDMI extension socket. A cover is then applied on top of the disk for protection and strength enhancement.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Motherboard installed on the chassis.
    [​IMG]

A transparent window is cut on the CPU fan. I have also decorated this window by putting LED lights by the edge. The fan is assembled on the top of CPU heat sink.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Power socket for the computer is at the rear of the car and connected to the ITX MINI power supply which is at the top of the batmobile.
    [​IMG]