1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Displays This an ok monitor?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ceryni, 11 Aug 2014.

1. ceryni

ceryni Idiot

Hi guys I'm after a quick answer really because its 2 days until my birthday.

Is this ok for the price?
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Acer-S240HL...812&sr=8-5&keywords=pc+monitor#productDetails

My current monitor is broken. Samsung 223BW

Just need one that is budget, has ok colours, fairly reliable and a half decent response time. I'm not a pro gamer but i dont want to be ghosting all over the place.
    This seems to fit the bill.

other alternative: http://www.amazon.co.uk/ASUS-VE247H...TF8&qid=1407751812&sr=8-4&keywords=pc+monitor

2. Yslen

Yslen Lord of the Twenty-Seventh Circle

Personally I'd go for an IPS Panel like this one. Friend of mine has this one and hasn't reported any ghosting issues. Image quality with even cheap IPS like this though is way better than TN for a similar price.

3. Jim

Jim Ineptimodder

I agree with Yslen. Go for an IPS - the stated response times will be slower than a TN, but I'd be surprised if you'd notice unless you're a CSS LAN pro.

What you can easily notice is the better quality of the panel and colours etc.

4. ceryni

ceryni Idiot

5. Jim

Jim Ineptimodder

6. ceryni

ceryni Idiot

I would like a matte screen as my desk is near a south facing window!

7. CrapBag

CrapBag Multimodder

Have you considered buying from here.

I think they are Refurbs but come with a 1 year warranty.

Many people here have bought from them and they even have a member here.

NRG

8. Jim

Jim Ineptimodder

Same here, hence why I've always gone for Dell monitors as they tend to have quite an aggressive matte coating.

Sadly, however, they're all a bit out of budget - i.e. http://www.scan.co.uk/products/238-...ultra-thin-605mm-border-vesa-?ProductId=88807 which is a real beauty.