1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Project: EVO, 1st August

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by bugslunchbox, 1 Aug 2014.

1. bugslunchbox

bugslunchbox What's a Dremel?

Hello everybody!

This is my first project here and my first scratch build ever. I wanted a micro-ATX aluminium case that would support water cooling while being as small as possible. For some time I wanted to get a BitFenix Prodigy and chop it, but ultimately I thought building it from scratch would be more fun. For the shape I draw some inspiration from the Mac G5 and the Asrock M8. So this is the SkethUp model:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Front view:

[​IMG]

Back view:

[​IMG]

If you have any opinion or advice about he sketch please share.

And here is the interior view:

[​IMG]

By the way, this is the hardware list:

MB: Asus Maximus IV Gene Z
    CPU: Core i5 2500K
    RAM: Patriot Viper 1866 MHz 8 GB kit
    GPU: MSI Radeon HD 6670 (will be upgraded to ASUS GTX 760 DC Mini)
    PSU: SilverStone SFX ST45SF 450W
    HDD: WD Green 2.5TB
    SSD: Samsung 840 EVO 120GB

And the water cooling components:

Alphacool 240 + 120 radiators
    Watercool HeatKiller Rev 3.0 LT CPU Block
    Phobya DC12-400 Pump
    10/13mm transparent tubing + fittings
    Home made reservoir
    Home made GPU block

So right now I'm left with 2 dilemmas:

1. I'm not sure on the shape of the side window. Here are some alternative designs I've been working on. Witch one do you like best? Or if you guys have any idea, please share.

[​IMG]

2. I want a digital display on the right side panel for the water temperature and I have 3 choices:

[​IMG]

1st is from a fan controller and as you can see it displays 4 temps witch is a plus, the down side is it's big and I'm low on space so the only viable placement is above the window