1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linux Linux Fedora folding questions

Discussion in 'Software' started by coolamasta, 16 Aug 2009.

1. coolamasta

coolamasta Folding@Home CC Captain 2010/11/12

I've just built an Ubuntu x64 i7 rig and as im a total noob to Linux I need a core temperature program and also a way I can remote onto the Ubuntu box from Windows, what can I use?

Thanks in advance for any help :thumb:

Last edited: 18 Aug 2009
  2. coolamasta

FAO: Clive or any other Linux jedi's :)

Can you help me with this one pleaaaaaaase :D :thumb:

http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=173223

Also I have managed to get FAH working fine on Ubuntu 64 but I'm having a nightmare trying to get an Edimax USB wireless N dongle to work, wayyyyy too much command line stuff I don't understand to install it :(

At this rate im going to have the rig connected on a 10m Ethernet cable but it would be nice to get the wireless dongle working, just dont know how to install things in Linux and the readme file assumes you know the basics lol :wallbash:

3. JackOfAll

JackOfAll What's a Dremel?

Sensors ..... We need to figure out what mb you got or more specifically what is the IO chip on it? Have you tried running 'sensors-detect' as root? (That's assuming you have lm_sensors installed.) coretemp module will at least give you the 8 CPU core temps, IO chip driver support needed for the usual voltages and MB temp, etc. etc.

Wireless cards. Yes, that's not a Linux strong suit. Do you know what chipset the usb dongle uses? Failing that, exact part number and I'll do a little research.

You wan't to get to it from Windows. Choices. Run a VNC server on the Linux box (gui) or download putty (ssh client for Window$) so you can ssh into it (cmd line).

Last edited: 16 Aug 2009
  4. coolamasta