1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Constant BSoDs with Skyrim

Discussion in 'Software' started by arachan, 14 Nov 2011.

1. arachan

arachan What's a Dremel?

Hello,

I started playing Skyrim recently, and I had received 4 BSoDs before the end of the first area. I don't get them with any other game or ever really.

My computer is easily powerful enough to play Skyrim on max settings; I now play on min settings because I found that that decreases the amount of BSoDs I get. I have been playing and putting up with frequent BSoDs but now I'm just completely sick of them.

I have tried a few things all in vain. The error code I get is IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL. Apparently this is driver related, so I reinstalled my audio, video and chipset drivers. I activated Windows Update for the first time ever, and installed ~400MB of updates.

Here are my specs:

Intel E8400
    Asus P5KPL-CM
    2x2GB DDR2
    HD6950
    Seasonic X-400FL
    WD15EARS
    Windows 7 64-bit

If anyone has any ideas or suggestions that would be great.

Thanks in advance.

2. GeorgeK

GeorgeK Swinging the banhammer Super Moderator

I've not had this with Win 7 but had a similar problem with Windows XP iirc - for me it was a ram problem - have you upgraded your ram recently? Could you try with 1 stick of ram only? Skyrim should run with just 2gb of ram...

3. arachan

arachan What's a Dremel?

Thanks for the reply. I haven't upgraded my RAM recently. I can run Battlefield 3 fine, it seems to be just Skyrim that gives me BSoDs. I will run a memtest overnight although I am fairly sure my RAM is fine.

Any other ideas?

4. AoE

AoE What's a Dremel?

In my experience BSOD can be caused by non genuine copies of windows too, I thought it was RAM issue too but it wasn't in my case, once I bought a copy of windows, all vanished.

5. arachan

arachan What's a Dremel?