1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding Room redecoration and new PC build

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Huge, 25 Jul 2011.

1. Huge

Huge aka Dave

[​IMG]

First I'd like to ask that this is moved to the right sub-forum if it's in the wrong one.

I am an Engineering student doing a summer internship. My earnings are being spent in two areas: my car (classic mini cooper) and my room (plus pc).

[​IMG]

I previously had very little space in my little room to have any decent sort of desk. Thus I have never had much of a decent computer set up. This summer I had a brainwave and removed the door from the cupboard in the corner of my room that wasted so much of my floor space. With that gone I could move the bed to where the door used to open thus creating a large space to house a large desk. Here are a couple of quick sketchups to show how things were:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I moved the bed to check how things would look:

[​IMG]

Looks fine to me, I can still access my shirts and use the shelves, and with the extra space available I was free to design my perfect desk, then look out for the closest match on ebay that I could get nice and cheaply. Here was my final design:

[​IMG]

Soon after deciding on the above I came across the Ikea Galant Desk in oak, it was local and without much interest but it was a corner desk just as I wanted. The only thing it lacked was the length on the left hand arm to reach my bed, but for only £20 I jumped for it. The journey home was interesting (half the desk was out the back of the little hatchback my Dad owns so I had to sit in the back holding it in for the 6 mile journey home!). I'm extremely pleased with the desk as it's in perfect condition and at 10% of it's value (costs over £200 brand new). Here is a picture of it just after setting it up:

[​IMG]