bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th Nov 2011, 17:09   #1
lm_wfc
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 470
lm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysis
ISP Username and Password

PC wifi card wasnt working, so I bought a cable to connect to the router, I now need to enter my ISP username and password to connect.

I rent a room in a house with 5 other people, and the landlord may not want me knowing the ISP username and password.

Is there anyway I can find it out? I have a laptop connected to the wireless so may be able to find out?


Really want to play some BF3!!!!!!!!
__________________
i3-2100 - 2 x 4GB xms3 - Asus p8h67 - Spintpoint f3 - Casecom's finest ma-1199 - Antec high surrent gamer 400w - XFX 6870 black edition - Crucial C300 -
lm_wfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2011, 17:37   #2
.//TuNdRa
Resident Bulldozer Guru
 
.//TuNdRa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northamptonshire Region.
Posts: 3,763
.//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat.
You could try dumping the router's settings to the laptop, I know that some Belkin hubs tend to store everything in plaintext in any settings backups. I can't speak for others, however.

At last check; you require admin access to be able to download router settings, however.

Just ask the Landlord. Politeness can get you a long way, and explain the situation carefully. People are generally reasonable. Plus it could save you a great deal of effort if you spend ages hacking apart the router in order to get the ISP Username and Password when they could be happy to give it to you anyway.
__________________
Dozy Beast: AMD FX8120 | Thermalright Archon | Asus Crosshair V Formula | 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance LP | Asus Xonar DX/XD | 2X SLI KFA2 550Ti White Edition | Silverstone SSTG1000W | Silverstone Raven RV-02B V1.7 | OCZ Agility 3 60GB | 2x WD 3TB RED RAID0 | Lite-on Blu-ray ROM
Dell U2913WM | Sennheiser HD 485s | Creative Gigaworks T40s | Logitech G13 | Microsoft Sidewinder X6 | Cyborg R.A.T 9
.//TuNdRa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2011, 17:45   #3
lm_wfc
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 470
lm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysis
I thought it might just be easy to get it on wireless properties or something, I'm not gonna **** about with the router.

I'll ask, it's just he already let me run a cable throught the hallway and stairs which the council don't like.
__________________
i3-2100 - 2 x 4GB xms3 - Asus p8h67 - Spintpoint f3 - Casecom's finest ma-1199 - Antec high surrent gamer 400w - XFX 6870 black edition - Crucial C300 -
lm_wfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2011, 17:58   #4
MrDomRocks
All Men Must Die.
 
MrDomRocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: West Midlands, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,791
MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.
Ok so your saying when plugged into the network direct via the wireless hub/router it asks for isp username and password.

What is the service provider?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookie Monster View Post
</snip>brush my teeth as I imagine most of us do. "Urrrrrrr, that doesn't taste right", I'd only gone and squeezed the missus's hand cream onto my brush.
Quote:
Originally Posted by liratheal View Post
At least you'll have moisturised gums!
MrDomRocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2011, 18:03   #5
Dizzee
Minimodder
 
Dizzee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: No I don't dremel on my pillow
Posts: 26
Dizzee has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
ISP user/pass to connect to the router?

is strange... usually you just need a user/pass to connect to the router but that's not likely to be the same as the router to connect to the isp..

old talk talk routers used to use the telephone number as a user.. and a default password...see manufacturer

in many cases you can look for default router user/pass by just looking up the manual online.

BT have the wifi password on the router.
Dizzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2011, 18:07   #6
lm_wfc
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 470
lm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysis
I assume its virgin as thats the TV. D-Link router.

It actually does ask jsut for username and password but in the blank ox on the window screen it has"username your ISP gave you" in greyed out text.
__________________
i3-2100 - 2 x 4GB xms3 - Asus p8h67 - Spintpoint f3 - Casecom's finest ma-1199 - Antec high surrent gamer 400w - XFX 6870 black edition - Crucial C300 -
lm_wfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2011, 18:53   #7
MrDomRocks
All Men Must Die.
 
MrDomRocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: West Midlands, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,791
MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.
Seems odd as I'm with Virgin media and it has never asked for those details, should just plug and play.

it would be the landloards username and password.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookie Monster View Post
</snip>brush my teeth as I imagine most of us do. "Urrrrrrr, that doesn't taste right", I'd only gone and squeezed the missus's hand cream onto my brush.
Quote:
Originally Posted by liratheal View Post
At least you'll have moisturised gums!
MrDomRocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2011, 19:01   #8
Dizzee
Minimodder
 
Dizzee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: No I don't dremel on my pillow
Posts: 26
Dizzee has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
try username: admin
password: [blank]
Dizzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2011, 19:43   #9
lm_wfc
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 470
lm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysis
I thought plug and play too

I go to network on control panel it something then connect to internet then only option is WiFi so I choose new that pc isn't set up to use.
Then broadband
Then the next screen asks for username a.d pw.

When I get home will try admin. Im sure its been left as the default by the landlord
__________________
i3-2100 - 2 x 4GB xms3 - Asus p8h67 - Spintpoint f3 - Casecom's finest ma-1199 - Antec high surrent gamer 400w - XFX 6870 black edition - Crucial C300 -
lm_wfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2011, 19:43   #10
MrDomRocks
All Men Must Die.
 
MrDomRocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: West Midlands, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,791
MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.MrDomRocks is definitely a rep cheat.
if it's router access and it came from Virgin, usually virgin and password is the access if not then admin admin lol
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookie Monster View Post
</snip>brush my teeth as I imagine most of us do. "Urrrrrrr, that doesn't taste right", I'd only gone and squeezed the missus's hand cream onto my brush.
Quote:
Originally Posted by liratheal View Post
At least you'll have moisturised gums!
MrDomRocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2011, 23:49   #11
lm_wfc
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 470
lm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysis
On 192.168.0.1, not much help.

By the looks of it its the email address that came with the virgin account, unless I find any post the lanlord will have to dig it out, he manages about 10 houses so not sure if he'll have any idea
__________________
i3-2100 - 2 x 4GB xms3 - Asus p8h67 - Spintpoint f3 - Casecom's finest ma-1199 - Antec high surrent gamer 400w - XFX 6870 black edition - Crucial C300 -
lm_wfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2011, 23:54   #12
lm_wfc
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 470
lm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysislm_wfc can run Crysis
wtf, just plugged the cable in to my laptop and it works fine.

I have an asus p8h67m-pro, and windows 7 pro.

Should I uninstalll the wifi card in case thats still interfering?
__________________
i3-2100 - 2 x 4GB xms3 - Asus p8h67 - Spintpoint f3 - Casecom's finest ma-1199 - Antec high surrent gamer 400w - XFX 6870 black edition - Crucial C300 -
lm_wfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:37.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.