1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress UDesk [Airtight, Very low noise PC built in Desk] Updated 3th July 2014

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by uberniner, 1 May 2014.

1. uberniner

uberniner What's a Dremel?

Hello guys,

let me introduce my current project:

UDesk

[​IMG]

It's my first build of a pc-in-desk, so it might have flaws :)

Anyways, without writing wall of text, here are my top priorities for this build:

• Ergonomics: no obstacles in place where you put your legs, wooden surface for warm feel, no direct lights in workspace area to reduce distraction, adjustable height is a must.
    • Low-cost: minimum amount of money invested (the whole thing will most likely cost less than what other spend just on fittings), utilizing junk parts, used materials, making own water cooling components etc.
    • Zero Noise: well not zero, but below audible levels for most of the work and gaming (exception are benchmarks and demanding games, where some active cooling is necessary).
    • High Performance: specifically for esport, meaning single gpu and OCed CPU for high fps and low inputlag etc.
    • Low and easy maintenance and zero dust: the goal is to have a perfect system, that doesn't require attention and runs without a hitch for years. Once the upgrade is needed, it has to be very easy. Also no dust is great for the looks.
    • Easy to transport: the desk might be moved from one room to another or even to another house, so it has to be made of smaller separable parts.

One last thing. I had unbelievable problems getting my account validated - it took literally months - finally I got here thanks to Matt :thumb: I nearly finished the whole desk. So here is a taste of whats coming.

[​IMG]

I will be posting the work progress over next few weeks in a condensed manner, so you can still see some of the steps that had to be taken to get here.