1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'd like to build a small, cheap folding rig

Discussion in 'bit-tech Folding Team' started by SpleenBeGone, 10 Mar 2012.

1. SpleenBeGone

SpleenBeGone What's a Dremel?

Hello all. I'm new to folding, and would like to do my part with a dedicated folding rig. There are two conditions it must meet. First, I don't want to spend too much right now, as I'm just getting into it. $400 or less please. (less is better)
    Second, I pay $.13/kw so I'm shooting for efficiency over power.

I have no problem buying used parts off of ebay and such for something like this, and I won't be needing a case, or a power supply.

What would be some ideal setups for this? I'm curious about super low wattage systems like atoms or e-350's, are they worth the time?

2. Christopher N. Lew

Christopher N. Lew Folding in memory of my father

No, generally they don't run fast enough to complete jobs before the deadlines.

Do you envisage running 24/7?

3. SpleenBeGone

Yes, it will be running 24/7, that's one reason I want it to be low wattage.

4. BeauchN

BeauchN Multimodder

Trusty Google shows a i3 2100 produces about 6-7k ppd. One of these with a h61 motherboard should set you back $230 at most. You have the PSU, and can use the integrated graphics so all you need is a HDD. If you use Linux as the OS you normally get higher ppd as well as it being free! I don't have numbers, but at a guess this will draw around 110w.

Obviously there is no overclocking, which will limit the longevity of the set up. But you could drop in a quad-core later if you wanted to.

Neil

5. SpleenBeGone

Oh wow, that's about what my 2500k makes under windows.

Is there a particular version of linux that's best, or will Ubuntu or Mint work, as those are what I'm most familiar with. Also, as far as power draw goes, would like a 30 gig SSD be more efficient than a 5400rpm hdd?

6. Votick