bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Modding > Modding

Reply
 
Thread Tools View Mode
Old 11th Mar 2017, 20:46   #1
LePhuronn
Multimodder
 
LePhuronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Posts: 85
LePhuronn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Replace Molex with Dupont for power

Hi

I'm in the process of trimming down some areas for my current project and redesigning some minor bits, and every mm of space will help.

I'm looking at some custom PSU cables that use Dupont connectors rather than Molex so I have some really low-profile plugs in tight spaces.

Dupont connectors seem to be about the same size internally as SATA so I don't think there'd be any issues, but I thought I'd ask before running 12V for a pump and a couple of hard drives through them!

Hit me up with advice and suggestions
__________________
Project: ASTERIA II: Rearmoured
In Win 901, case mod, watercooled | Modding update nominee April 2017
LePhuronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Mar 2017, 21:47   #2
Big Elf
“not another f—-ing elf”
 
Big Elf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South East
Posts: 3,037
Big Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming Saiyan
If you're talking about the 0.1" (2.54mm) housings and pins then they're designed for use with 22-28AWG wire which suggests that they'll be significantly more limited in terms of amperage than Molex type connectors. I use them for temperature sensor connectors, USB extensions and motherboard power/LED connections.

I'd suggest considering using 4 pin connectors with ATX pins:

4 pin female
4 pin male
__________________
Case Labs TH10│Asus Rampage III Extreme│Core i7 990X│24GB Corsair Dominator GT│GTX Titan SLI│Samsung 850 EVO 256GB│Crucial M4│2TB Samsung Momentus x 2│SeaSonic P1000W│EK Supremacy│EK FC-RE3│EK-FC Titan SE x 2│EK-RAM Dominator│Black Ice SR-1 480 x 3│Swiftech 35X2

Last edited by Big Elf; 11th Mar 2017 at 21:53.
Big Elf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Mar 2017, 01:02   #3
Dr. Coin
Supermodder
 
Dr. Coin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 393
Dr. Coin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Coin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Coin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Coin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Coin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Coin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Coin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Coin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Coin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Coin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Coin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Big Elf is right, you'll want to track down manufactures specifications and and check the rated wire size and ampacity is higher than the total connected load per connector. Note that SATA power connectors achieve the required ampacity by having each line connect to three pins in parallel. Thus allowing a thinner but still fairly wide plug.
__________________
Wait, I’ve got an idea, and it doesn’t require high explosives.
-Sam & Max Hit the Road
Dr. Coin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Mar 2017, 01:59   #4
LePhuronn
Multimodder
 
LePhuronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Posts: 85
LePhuronn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Thanks guys. It's just a flight of fancy really while I'm reworking some items in the build.

I'm looking at connecting 5V LED strips, a 5V laptop blower fan and possibly a 10W DDC pump in some really small spaces or through case panels without have massive cutouts, so was thinking of using the 2.54mm pitch Dupont connectors instead.

I'll go look at the amperage of the items in question and see what the crack is and see if 22 AWG and smaller is up to scratch. Shouldn't be an issue for the LED strips.

Cheers.
__________________
Project: ASTERIA II: Rearmoured
In Win 901, case mod, watercooled | Modding update nominee April 2017
LePhuronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Mar 2017, 02:50   #5
LePhuronn
Multimodder
 
LePhuronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Posts: 85
LePhuronn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Had a look and it might be OK.

The LED strips I'm looking at are 12V input and 4.8W/m, so that's 0.4A/m. Some of the cheaper Chinese LED strips are 1A/m. 24 AWG is rated for 2A, 2.54mm pitch Dupont are rated for 3A.

I could even get away hooking my 10W DDC up using 24 AWG.
__________________
Project: ASTERIA II: Rearmoured
In Win 901, case mod, watercooled | Modding update nominee April 2017
LePhuronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
View Mode

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:58.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.