bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20th Apr 2017, 09:26   #1
Kronos
Another grumpy old git.
 
Kronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 11,919
Kronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Replacement Cherry MX Switchs (red).

I am going to attempt to change some switches on a Corsair K70 RGB keyboard because of a known and I assume inherent fault with these boards that mean that some keys double or even triple letter and wondered where I can source these? Does the fact that the switches contain an LED make a difference or do the LED's just snap into any switch?

Any advise on the job would also be helpful though thee are videos on Youtube which I will be consulting.
__________________
Carbide 240/Asus Z170M plus/I5 6600K @ 4.6Ghz/Avexir Core Blue Series 16GB /AXP 200 Muscle /Gigabyte FE 1080/500Gb OCZ TR150 SSD/2 x 25Gb SSD/ 2TB HDD/ SST-ST60F-P PSU/Dell U3415/CM TK White (browns)/Logitech G400s/.
Silverstone GD05B/ MSI B751A-E33/G840/2x2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3 Red LED/GTX 260/Kingston 60GB/500GB WD/Corsair CX500/Dell U2711/ E Element Chroma KB /Logitech M518.
Kronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 10:33   #2
CrapBag
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
CrapBag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6,385
CrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming Saiyan
The LED is usually inserted into the switch and then soldered to the pcb so you will have to unsolder the led and the switch to remove the switch.

How many switches do you think you will need?

5 genuine switches, from china though
CrapBag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 11:37   #3
crazyg1zm0
Mod Master
 
crazyg1zm0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,176
crazyg1zm0 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.crazyg1zm0 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.crazyg1zm0 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.crazyg1zm0 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.crazyg1zm0 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.crazyg1zm0 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.crazyg1zm0 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.crazyg1zm0 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.crazyg1zm0 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.crazyg1zm0 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.crazyg1zm0 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
yea it should just be a case to remove the solder from the switch contacts the the LED and you should be able to lift both out at once.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatOldOne View Post
That just made me LOL my coffee over my keyboard....
Intel i7 2600k | Be Quiet Dark Rock Advanced | ASUS P8P67 pro | Patriot 1600 6GB | XFX 6870 Twin fan | corsair 650W | OCZ Vertex II 30gb | Samsung SP 1TB, Samsung 1.5TB, Samsung 500GB | Lian Li V-1000 | 2x23" screens
crazyg1zm0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 11:41   #4
davido_labido
Staff
bit-tech Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 248
davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I actually did a guide for replacing switches

https://www.bit-tech.net/modding/pro...switches-mod/1
davido_labido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 11:43   #5
GeorgeK
Oooh purple
Moderator
 
GeorgeK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ashford, Kent
Posts: 7,313
GeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming Saiyan
The LEDs will be soldered on at two points and the switches will be soldered on at two separate points - so 4 solders / desolders per switch. You will need to heat up the solder using a soldering iron and then either use a solder sucker or wick to remove the old solder, remove the LED and switch, replace the switch, replace the LED and then resolder. Our very own davido labido's guide is very good

http://www.bit-tech.net/modding/proj...switches-mod/1

Edit: Ninja'd
GeorgeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 12:00   #6
Kronos
Another grumpy old git.
 
Kronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 11,919
Kronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by davido_labido View Post
I actually did a guide for replacing switches

https://www.bit-tech.net/modding/pro...switches-mod/1
Interesting guide, unfortunately I think I do have the cheap and cheerful type of soldering iron mentioned in your guide and I am reluctant to spend money on something I will never use again. So if my one fails then I will call it a day on this project which i think was way past my pay grade anyway.
__________________
Carbide 240/Asus Z170M plus/I5 6600K @ 4.6Ghz/Avexir Core Blue Series 16GB /AXP 200 Muscle /Gigabyte FE 1080/500Gb OCZ TR150 SSD/2 x 25Gb SSD/ 2TB HDD/ SST-ST60F-P PSU/Dell U3415/CM TK White (browns)/Logitech G400s/.
Silverstone GD05B/ MSI B751A-E33/G840/2x2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3 Red LED/GTX 260/Kingston 60GB/500GB WD/Corsair CX500/Dell U2711/ E Element Chroma KB /Logitech M518.
Kronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 12:47   #7
davido_labido
Staff
bit-tech Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 248
davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
The cheap and cheerful ones *sometimes* work. It depends on how high the temperature goes on it really. Also, it depends on which solder the manufacturer uses.

For instance, ASUS use a solder that is ridiculous. I blew up my old soldering iron trying to desolder an ASUS X99 Deluxe. It just wouldn't melt the solder and iirc that iron went to 700 degrees!!
davido_labido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 12:50   #8
Kronos
Another grumpy old git.
 
Kronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 11,919
Kronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by davido_labido View Post
The cheap and cheerful ones *sometimes* work. It depends on how high the temperature goes on it really. Also, it depends on which solder the manufacturer uses.

For instance, ASUS use a solder that is ridiculous. I blew up my old soldering iron trying to desolder an ASUS X99 Deluxe. It just wouldn't melt the solder and iirc that iron went to 700 degrees!!
If memory serves the last time I did a bit of soldering when I was into a bit of modding I am sure I had issues with melting pretty basic solder so I don't hold out much hope.

But we shall see.
__________________
Carbide 240/Asus Z170M plus/I5 6600K @ 4.6Ghz/Avexir Core Blue Series 16GB /AXP 200 Muscle /Gigabyte FE 1080/500Gb OCZ TR150 SSD/2 x 25Gb SSD/ 2TB HDD/ SST-ST60F-P PSU/Dell U3415/CM TK White (browns)/Logitech G400s/.
Silverstone GD05B/ MSI B751A-E33/G840/2x2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3 Red LED/GTX 260/Kingston 60GB/500GB WD/Corsair CX500/Dell U2711/ E Element Chroma KB /Logitech M518.
Kronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 13:35   #9
loftie
Mod Master
 
loftie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,481
loftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kronos View Post
I am going to attempt to change some switches on a Corsair K70 RGB keyboard because of a known and I assume inherent fault with these boards that mean that some keys double or even triple letter and wondered where I can source these? Does the fact that the switches contain an LED make a difference or do the LED's just snap into any switch?
Without trying to derail the thread, in my googling for chattering (multi key press registering) to do with my refurbished K70 it seemed quite common. Though I appreciate googling for anything makes it seem common tbh. In my own thread about the issue, bit-techers suggested alcohol (not the beer kind ) amongst other things.

I've also come across a program called Keyboard Chattering Fix, which helps filter multi keypress although I've not tested it in games to see how if affects them. And finally, I found an article which shows you how to edit the registry setting for Windows' Bounce Keys setting to do a similar thing.

Also, my replacement refurbished keyboard seems to be exhibiting double typing as well, though in a more erratic and intermittent manner - lots of keys randomly and infrequently. I suspect this may be less of a switch issues and more of a controller issue.
__________________
Sent from my PC using a keyboard
loftie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 13:42   #10
Kronos
Another grumpy old git.
 
Kronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 11,919
Kronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by loftie View Post
Without trying to derail the thread, in my googling for chattering (multi key press registering) to do with my refurbished K70 it seemed quite common. Though I appreciate googling for anything makes it seem common tbh. In my own thread about the issue, bit-techers suggested alcohol (not the beer kind ) amongst other things.

I've also come across a program called Keyboard Chattering Fix, which helps filter multi keypress although I've not tested it in games to see how if affects them. And finally, I found an article which shows you how to edit the registry setting for Windows' Bounce Keys setting to do a similar thing.

Also, my replacement refurbished keyboard seems to be exhibiting double typing as well, though in a more erratic and intermittent manner - lots of keys randomly and infrequently. I suspect this may be less of a switch issues and more of a controller issue.
Tried the Chattering Fix program no change.
If it is a 'controller issue' not that I know what that is, can anything be done or is it a case of flinging the thing in the bucket?
__________________
Carbide 240/Asus Z170M plus/I5 6600K @ 4.6Ghz/Avexir Core Blue Series 16GB /AXP 200 Muscle /Gigabyte FE 1080/500Gb OCZ TR150 SSD/2 x 25Gb SSD/ 2TB HDD/ SST-ST60F-P PSU/Dell U3415/CM TK White (browns)/Logitech G400s/.
Silverstone GD05B/ MSI B751A-E33/G840/2x2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3 Red LED/GTX 260/Kingston 60GB/500GB WD/Corsair CX500/Dell U2711/ E Element Chroma KB /Logitech M518.
Kronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 13:45   #11
Margo Baggins
I'm good at Soldering
Moderator
 
Margo Baggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brighton
Posts: 5,522
Margo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by davido_labido View Post
I actually did a guide for replacing switches

https://www.bit-tech.net/modding/pro...switches-mod/1
you're supposed to dip your wick, then it works better even if the wick says it's got flux in it somewhere, if you dip it in rosin flux then it will work at least 100 times better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by davido_labido View Post
The cheap and cheerful ones *sometimes* work. It depends on how high the temperature goes on it really. Also, it depends on which solder the manufacturer uses.

For instance, ASUS use a solder that is ridiculous. I blew up my old soldering iron trying to desolder an ASUS X99 Deluxe. It just wouldn't melt the solder and iirc that iron went to 700 degrees!!
Problem with motherboards is they have so many layers - you can bank on one being a ground poor, just means it sucks all the heat out of the area you are trying to desolder. More often than not it's not all out high temps you need, but the ability to transfer the load from the iron, to what you are trying to desolder, and keeping it there. For motherboards they 100% will use lead free solder which makes it tough again. However, if you had a heated surface, like an IR pre heater or board heater, then I reckon you would have been able to do it easy
__________________
My Imgur

i7 6700k - 8GB - GTX 1070
keyboards.
Margo Baggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 13:47   #12
Kronos
Another grumpy old git.
 
Kronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 11,919
Kronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Margo Baggins View Post
you're supposed to dip your wick, then it works better even if the wick says it's got flux in it somewhere, if you dip it in rosin flux then it will work at least 100 times better.
Lost me here.
__________________
Carbide 240/Asus Z170M plus/I5 6600K @ 4.6Ghz/Avexir Core Blue Series 16GB /AXP 200 Muscle /Gigabyte FE 1080/500Gb OCZ TR150 SSD/2 x 25Gb SSD/ 2TB HDD/ SST-ST60F-P PSU/Dell U3415/CM TK White (browns)/Logitech G400s/.
Silverstone GD05B/ MSI B751A-E33/G840/2x2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3 Red LED/GTX 260/Kingston 60GB/500GB WD/Corsair CX500/Dell U2711/ E Element Chroma KB /Logitech M518.
Kronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 13:52   #13
GeorgeK
Oooh purple
Moderator
 
GeorgeK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ashford, Kent
Posts: 7,313
GeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming Saiyan
He's referring to Dave giving up on solder wick in his article and using a pump instead
GeorgeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 13:53   #14
Kronos
Another grumpy old git.
 
Kronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 11,919
Kronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeK View Post
He's referring to Dave giving up on solder wick in his article and using a pump instead
__________________
Carbide 240/Asus Z170M plus/I5 6600K @ 4.6Ghz/Avexir Core Blue Series 16GB /AXP 200 Muscle /Gigabyte FE 1080/500Gb OCZ TR150 SSD/2 x 25Gb SSD/ 2TB HDD/ SST-ST60F-P PSU/Dell U3415/CM TK White (browns)/Logitech G400s/.
Silverstone GD05B/ MSI B751A-E33/G840/2x2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3 Red LED/GTX 260/Kingston 60GB/500GB WD/Corsair CX500/Dell U2711/ E Element Chroma KB /Logitech M518.
Kronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 14:14   #15
loftie
Mod Master
 
loftie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,481
loftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kronos View Post
Tried the Chattering Fix program no change.
That's odd. For me it stops everything if I bump the threshold up high enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kronos View Post
If it is a 'controller issue' not that I know what that is, can anything be done or is it a case of flinging the thing in the bucket?
Sorry mate, not a clue! I assume it's completely out of warranty based on the bucket remark? I've asked Corsair support for info instead of just RMA'ing mine again, and they basically said, and I quote

Quote:
It could be a grounding issue, a collection of failed keyswitches, a firmware failure, a short in the mainboard
I've also asked them if they have any specific program they use to test for chatter - I'll see if they respond! My first foray into mech keyboards is going well
__________________
Sent from my PC using a keyboard
loftie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 14:18   #16
Kronos
Another grumpy old git.
 
Kronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 11,919
Kronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by loftie View Post
That's odd. For me it stops everything if I bump the threshold up high enough



Sorry mate, not a clue! I assume it's completely out of warranty based on the bucket remark? I've asked Corsair support for info instead of just RMA'ing mine again, and they basically said, and I quote



I've also asked them if they have any specific program they use to test for chatter - I'll see if they respond! My first foray into mech keyboards is going well
Good luck with Corsair as even though this is a known issue they were not the slightest bit interested as it is outside of the warranty period. That's another company on my never touch again list.
__________________
Carbide 240/Asus Z170M plus/I5 6600K @ 4.6Ghz/Avexir Core Blue Series 16GB /AXP 200 Muscle /Gigabyte FE 1080/500Gb OCZ TR150 SSD/2 x 25Gb SSD/ 2TB HDD/ SST-ST60F-P PSU/Dell U3415/CM TK White (browns)/Logitech G400s/.
Silverstone GD05B/ MSI B751A-E33/G840/2x2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3 Red LED/GTX 260/Kingston 60GB/500GB WD/Corsair CX500/Dell U2711/ E Element Chroma KB /Logitech M518.
Kronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 14:29   #17
davido_labido
Staff
bit-tech Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 248
davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.davido_labido is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Margo Baggins View Post
you're supposed to dip your wick, then it works better even if the wick says it's got flux in it somewhere, if you dip it in rosin flux then it will work at least 100 times better.
Yeah, I tried with flux too but never got the results I wanted. What really irks me is that there was an old guy where I used to work who used to be able clean a full PCB in a few seconds with solder wick. I would spend about 30 - 40 mins on the same thing. I know it is something I do wrong, or maybe I just give up with it too soon as I know I can use a pump far easier.

As for the board, that makes a lot of sense actually, never thought about that at all!
davido_labido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 14:46   #18
GeorgeK
Oooh purple
Moderator
 
GeorgeK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ashford, Kent
Posts: 7,313
GeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming Saiyan
The problem is, as with many PC items, Corsair won't actually manufacturer their mechanical keyboards but will instead have an OEM to do it for them and then they will just honour their warranties for as long as they have to. If they're not using a decent OEM or an unknown OEM then chances are the boards will fail before too long. On the other hand some boards are known to be built like tanks (Filco, CM Storm Quickfire Rapid, Das Keyboards, WASD Keyboards) and unsurprisingly they are all made by the same OEM (in this case Costar) - even past the warranty periods these boards tend to last well.
GeorgeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 15:22   #19
loftie
Mod Master
 
loftie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,481
loftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kronos View Post
Good luck with Corsair as even though this is a known issue they were not the slightest bit interested as it is outside of the warranty period. That's another company on my never touch again list.
From what i've read, it's the nature of mechanical switches in general. My refurb still has until november warranty wise, and corsair have stated if scan don't replace it they will. Unfortunately most/all companies don't care the moment an item is out of warranty.

Did you try using any alcohol or anything on the switches? It might just be crap in the switches themselves. This reddit page may be useful if you haven't already found it.
__________________
Sent from my PC using a keyboard
loftie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 15:27   #20
Margo Baggins
I'm good at Soldering
Moderator
 
Margo Baggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brighton
Posts: 5,522
Margo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Glenn if you want to ship it to me with a list of switches that are chattering I can change them for you, I've got hundreds of reds at home.

just when you've paid postage both ways it's starting to sound expensive, for an old keyboard.
__________________
My Imgur

i7 6700k - 8GB - GTX 1070
keyboards.
Margo Baggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:46.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.