1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cases Case recommendations? [Coolermaster Mastercase 5/Pro 5?]

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Unicorn, 11 Feb 2016.

1. Unicorn

Unicorn Uniform November India

Is anyone using a CM Mastercase 5 or Pro 5? I have been eyeing up this case for a few months and am close to ordering it to rebuild one of my folding PCs into. The system is entirely air cooled, based on an old EVGA X58 Classified with an i7 980X CPU (running @ 4 GHz), 12GB of Corsair Vengeance RAM and a pair of GTX 970 GPUs with a very small overclock. It runs off a modular 1250W Enermax Revolution 85+ PSU and Windows 8.1 booted from a 240GB SSD. It sits under a bench and churns out ~500K PPD and I rarely have to touch it.

At the moment it's in an old Antec 900 (which hit every branch during its fall out of the ugly tree, but is hidden under my bench and does a fantastic job of keeping the system cool and quiet) but I feel that it’s due a rebuild into a new mid/full tower case with a bit more space and better cable management options. The 900 was the closest spare case with plenty of fans in it that I had to hand when I was throwing this machine together, but it is just that; thrown together, and the time has come to build it properly in a good case.

I do have a number of older cases lying around; there are a couple of spare Akasa full towers, Antec 300s, 302s, even some higher end cases from Lian-Li and Silverstone, but I’m in the mood for something new and the Mastercase 5 is the only thing that’s caught my eye for less than £150. I’m also open to other mid or full tower suggestions if anyone has any. Thanks in advance!

2. MadGinga

MadGinga oooh whats this do?

I recently moved from a lowly CM Elite 335 to a Fractal Design Define R5 and I love it.
    Simple clean lines/looks, and so easy to build in and route your cables.
    Would definitely recommend.

3. johnim40