1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Origin - why you anger me?

Discussion in 'Software' started by AlienwareAndy, 16 Jun 2013.

1. AlienwareAndy

AlienwareAndy What's a Dremel?

OK so I have an issue with Origin that is really pissing me off..

Steam ? now that I love. Basically if I have to reinstall Windows (which I do a lot given I'm a hobbyist reviewer/tinkerer) all I need to do is download the Steam installer, point it to my Steam DIR and bingo bongo ! all of my lovely games are immediately detected and ready for me to play (well, after any initial DX bits).

Origin? why are you such a hateful bile spilling pile of cack?

I download the Origin installer, point it to my Origin install folder.. None of my games are detected, leaving me to download 40gbs of them to get them back in there. It's OK with Crysis 3, NFS : The Run and BFBC2 as I have the media, but BF3 came by ways of a code that I got free with a GPU.

So does any one know a way to get it to see the data, rather than forcing me to download it all again? or, should I just buy the media?

This is the biggest reason why I haven't removed my optical drive (well, that and the fact that games are much cheaper on Amazon as hard copies which is kinda stupid).

I'm really getting to the point where I'm just going to remove Origin and hack all of my games with no dvd or whatever just so I don't have to keep continually downloading them :(

2. CrazyJoe

CrazyJoe Modder

There's a backup/restore guide on the Origin forums, not sure if it's any use though or if you have the files in the format that is described below.

mikeyandrewb and boiled_elephant like this.
  3. AlienwareAndy

Hmm. I have several drives in my PC so I'll try that.

Thanks !

4. boiled_elephant

boiled_elephant Merom Celeron 4 lyfe

Repped for useful informations, I think I'll be writing this down somewhere.

5. AlienwareAndy

No folder called Disk1. Bummer.