1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress gaming rig flashlight mod

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by siliconfanatic, 6 Jan 2013.

1. siliconfanatic

siliconfanatic Johny-come-Lately

soo... this is my first project log here on bit-tech:clap:
    well, i Should say the Start of my first log. I haven't begun modding the case yet as i have certain very regular time constraints which must be met. However, i have taken one or two steps in the right direction.

The first thing i will be adding to this case is a flashlight PCB array. i have several of these so i will have the time to perfect the process.. Which currently consists of sex-wee-ing all over the PCB with solder and hot glue.

The first step was actually cutting the reflector plate away from the dish part, as i don't want the light focused on one point, just none on the PCB. Here is the result of rather sloppy craftsmanship:

[​IMG]

The funnel part ended up being taken out as i couldn't cut it accurately enough. So just ignore that.
    a rather... shadowey pic of the back of the pcb:
    [​IMG]
    As you DON'T see, it has alot of stubby, pointy wire left over from the solder job, and a visible, bulky spring which is a hindrance for where it'll be going. its gotta go, too.

POOF! Now you can't see a d@mn thing:D:eyebrow: I need to take better pics for the kind of incredibly good camera I've got.
    [​IMG]
    I also sanded the bumpy(er) edges of the PCB to further reduce the risk of lost skin and sticking myself in the finger. I am using a diamond-grit sander, currently.

Next, I hot-glued four pieces of foam to the PCB. and my pinky and index finger together. [​IMG]