1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Spray guns

Discussion in 'General' started by liratheal, 10 Jul 2008.

1. liratheal

liratheal Sharing is Caring

I toyed with the thought that this should be in 'Modding' but decided against it. If that was the wrong decision, sorry!

Right, I've been using aerosols for some years now, and frankly, on the occasions I've been able to use a spray gun, I've loved the experience. I think, next month, I will finally invest in some good spraying equipment.

However, since I've very little knowledge of the whole thing, really (I used one at a local garage, but that was of insane cost, but by god, it was awesome. Don't fancy blowing that kinda cash though). I need some advice.

So, guys'n'gals, in your opinion, what's the best in terms of performance vs. cost in the spray gun world, and what would I need compressor wise to run it well?

2. CobraMods

CobraMods Gettin there slowly

personally i prefer the gravity feed models similar to this one
    http://www.diy-compressors.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=29_59&products_id=211
    you can get an economy one without having to sell your first born child and it would be sufficent for most of whats done in the trade here.
    the main thing to remember..for the most part its not how much you pay for the gun., its how clean you keep it.
    thuroughly clean it after every use and you can get years out of them.
    as for a compressor you can chose from nearly anything that will provide sufficent air flow. your best bet is a compressor with a holding take attached as it holds a more steady preasure without pulsing when your shooting the color.
    something like this
    http://www.diy.com/diy/jsp/bq/nav/n...refview=search&ts=1215702312132&isSearch=true
    would last you for years with minimal maintenance.
    they are a bit on the loud side but its hard to find a quiet compressor now adays