1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Best free 3D modelling and rendering software.

Discussion in 'Software' started by Booga, 31 Jul 2010.

1. Booga

Booga Cuppa tea anyone?

As the title says what are peoples opinions on free 3D modelling and rendering packages.

I am a design engineer who uses UG NX5 on a daily basis and have used many different 3D modelling packages in the past IDEAS, Solidworks etc, but these have either been through work or from other sources ;).

I am after a free 3D modelling package, preferably a CAD based package, primarily for modelling custom motorcycle parts but also having a dabble with some PC bits and bobs.

Wife's profession precludes me from using certain 'sources' so free would be great.

Any suggestions, recommendations would be welcome.

Last edited: 31 Jul 2010
  2. Delphium

Delphium Eyefinity enabled

3. The_Beast

The_Beast I like wood ಠ_ಠ

Google sketchup for modeling and Kerkythea for rendering. It's what most on this forum will suggest for free modeling/rendering programs

4. Aterius Gmork

Aterius Gmork smell the ashes

Sketchup is different to your average CAD software though, far more limited but more intuitive. It's biggest problem is the way it handles curves and exports models making it incompatible to most machines like cncs. Also Kerythea might be free, but it's **** if used with Sketchup. Sorry guys, but it's true. I gave up on this software long ago. The results might be okay for a free software, but the rendering times are ridiulous, again due to the way curves are handled.

There's Blender of course, it's the most well known and probably best freeware 3D modelling software out there. It's no CAD software though, but there are a few plugins that add quite a few features.