1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other What's your (home) backup/redundancy procedure?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Guest-16, 8 Dec 2015.

1. Guest-16

Guest-16 Guest

Backup and redundancy is something I've been stressing over for ~10 years now. In the beginning of the 00s I used to use DVDRWs and even tried a tape drive, but eventually gave up.
    Currently I do copy/paste redundancy manually out of iterative paranoia, but I'd love to improve it and know what others do. Everyone has a limited budget and different amounts of data that are mission critical vs nice to keep vs meh.

My NAS (No UPS, Win 10 PC w/ remote desktop admin):
    [2x3TB (mirrored) + 2x1TB SSDs movie data] - all data manually mirrored to another 1x6TB

Cloud:
    1TB OneDrive mapped to Z:\, then Robocopy mission critical directories (fam pics etc) to the Cloud periodically.

2. CrapBag

CrapBag Multimodder

I really ought to buy a NAS for such things but other purchases keep getting in the way :(, currently I have a 1TB Samsung USB 3 hard drive and don't back up anywhere near enough.

3. mrbungle

mrbungle Undercooked chicken giver

2 x 2tb mirrored arrays and then a manual copy of important stuff to a separate TB drive in another machine.

That's about it :)

4. wyx087

wyx087 Homeworld 3 is happening!!

My data doesn't change too much:

6TB low power Synology NAS always on. That mirror backs up to HP microserver bi-weekly.

Most important stuff are backed up to various free cloud services by NAS.

Other important stuff but large (eg. family photos a couple hundred gigs) are backed up on a portable drive and placed at my parents every few months.

5. Lankius Maximus

Lankius Maximus Minimodder

Luckily for me I do not have a job which is computer/ data dependent so my backups purely concern personal photos/ videos/ music.