1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Simple i7 24x7 Folder

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by TaRkA DaHl, 24 Aug 2011.

1. TaRkA DaHl

TaRkA DaHl Modder

Hey all.

Saved a little cash this month and decide to build myself a 24x7 folding rig, also decided at long last to try and scratch build a case.

Before we get going, I warn you I am not a craftsman in anyway, I am reasonable at DIY and quite enjoy trying out things I have never done before, so decided to give this a go. There are no real plans other than the following few guidelines:

• Must fit into existing TV unit
    • Must be quiet whilst also running a high O/C
    • Must be able to accomodate a W/C loop once funds are available
    • Must be cheap
    • Give off enough heat to help heat the livingroom through winter

So firstly, here are the specs:

• Asrock Pro3 Z68 Motherboard
    • Intel Core i7 2600k Sandy Bridge Processor
    • 2x4Gb Kingston HyperX Genesis Memory
    • Corsair H70 (for the moment)
    • BeQuiet Pure Power L7 530W (86% efficient at 50% load which is perfect)

I will be using the onboard IGP to try and keep power draw to a minimum.

So I started by removing the 2600k from my existing PC:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Then got a nice delivery of parts which I began to put together into and old case I had lying around:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

And quickly got them folding and began to O/C.

I ended up getting this all stable at 4.4Ghz with just 1.28V, keeping temps down to 63 degrees with a single 38mm fan in the case, this should improve seriously when I get a set of 4 case fans and eventually a 240mm radiator setup.

Today I dug through the shed to see what I had available to work from, had a large amount of 12mm thick MDF spare so began with a wee drawing and immediately started cutting up to see what happened:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]