1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Borg Morg - convection cooled assimilation

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Kipman725, 25 Jul 2005.

1. Kipman725

Kipman725 When did I get a custom title!?!

Hello this is my first project log on Bit-Tech, I did have about 2000 words on the screen about this mod but firefox crashed (I think caused by fire-ftp). So I will wast no time in further waffel.

My mod is based on the black version of this case:
    [​IMG]
    A nasty pre mod.

I am transforming the case into an increadably light convection cooled borg themed monstrosity. This involves lots of mesh and relocating the psu. Also black split loom will be used to emulate the look of the borg.

I have already fitted a larger north bridge heatsink to my mobo and stuck the old north bridge sink to the south bridge. The system without any fans it wil have to cope with greater ambiant temp levels:
    [​IMG]

I have also chopped the stock grill away, this space will be filled with mesh:
    [​IMG]

At the moment Im waiting to be able to afford some reinforced cutting discs so I can cut the metal areas I need to. I am also going to order some acrylic so I can engrave the borg symbol into it:
    [​IMG]

Cost break down:
    zorro case - £20
    zalaman nbridge heatsink - £5
    As5 thermal adhesive - £10
    Draper tool - £30
    Goggles - £1
    total - £66
    (all figures aproximations)

Coming soon:
    drive bay covers modified with mesh to allow air to circulate better. :dremel:
    (eta. 3-4 days im at a lan :D)

comments apreciated!

2. Lovah

Lovah Apple and Canon fanboy

I love borg!

3. theurgy

theurgy What's a Dremel?

I will definitely be looking at this mod closely for ideas as I own a bezel similar to this from the same company.

4. The Lost Monk

The Lost Monk What's a Dremel?

LONG LIVE THE BORG!!!

5. Kipman725

update time! :)