1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Career advice

Discussion in 'Serious' started by David164v8, 18 Aug 2014.

1. David164v8

David164v8 Minimodder

After my final GCSE results on Thursday, I'll be choosing whatever subjects I want to do at AS level. Which means that whatever I pick then will limit what course I choose at University if I go that route.

The problem is that I have absolutely no idea what I want to do for a living. I was thinking of picking Biology, Chemistry, Physics along with English Literature so I don't restrict myself to anything just yet.

So in this thread it would be helpful if everyone could post their job, what they do in it and how they got there. I wouldn't be asking but its very hard to figure out what a job actually involves, when prospects.ac.uk describes being a Systems developer for example as

"Systems developers maintain, audit and improve organisational support systems by working on the internal operations of computers, using existing systems or incorporating new technologies to meet particular needs, often as advised by a systems analyst or architect. They test both hard and software systems, and diagnose and resolve system faults."

What does that even mean? Descriptions like that are why I thought it would be a good idea to ask people who can honestly give me a real idea of what a job will be like.

2. julianmartin

julianmartin resident cyborg.

A Levels: Maths, Physics, Electronics; AS of Geography
    Degree: Started doing Electronic Engineering but switched to Computer Science
    Job: Own a web development company

I did what I needed to get into Uni for EE. I ended up changing to what I enjoyed more, and thus do what I enjoy today.