1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Guitar Amp Moddeling Software

Discussion in 'Software' started by JCBeastie, 30 Jan 2012.

1. JCBeastie

JCBeastie What's a Dremel?

Been trying the ReValver Demo and I'm impressed but I don't have a spare $200. :p

I'm teaching myself bass at the moment, don't own an amp so just looking to recreate some sounds on the PC, yes I can hear it raw through Line In but it's so much better with a little processing.

So does anybody know of any good, cheap or free software that can at least mimic the most basic amp?

2. Margo Baggins

Margo Baggins I'm good at Soldering Super Moderator

I have been playing bass for 15 years - I tend to not use any modelling except a bit of compression and obviously a little eq fiddle. Though for the most part, eq is done on my basses as they are all active therefore have a nice shapeable sound on board. The other thing I use fairly regularly is a boss me-50b. they are about £150 - £200 if i remember correctly.

So just stick to compression and eq - I have never had too great results playing my bass through my pc, depends what speakers I got hooked up. with my 2.1 (12" sub) its alright, but still looses a lot in the middle.

For bass I think a cheap practise amp would be a million times better than going sraight into your pc.

3. saspro

saspro IT monkey

If you're still learning then just get a cheap practice amp.

You'll spend far too long fiddling with sounds on the PC rather than actually learning to play the bass.

Like Margo I just use a bit of EQ & the slightest amount of compression when playing. I've got a full modelling setup but hardly ever use it as the sound straight in to the amp is much better

4. lwills

lwills What's a Dremel?