1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Storage Installing OS on SSD and anything else on HDD

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BloodlessDawn, 15 Dec 2011.

1. BloodlessDawn

BloodlessDawn I know nothing.

Hi, I did a really quick scan of the forum and couldn't find anything regarding this question. Also, this is my first time posting. So go easy on me ;)

I'm considering building myself a new PC. My current is fairly standard setup.
    Dual Core 3.0Ghz, 2GB RAM, GeForce 8800GTS, 500GB HDD, 550W PSU.

It works, but it isn't exactly fast.

My queries are regarding installing Windows 7 on a SSD (would get one around 100GB) and then installing software and storing files on a separate HDD (Probably 1TB).

1) Is it worth the speed boost? SSD's are promoted everywhere as being the latest and fastest technology, but without spending a fortune can I actually get a good speed / loading time boost by installing Windows 7 on a SSD?

2) How would I handle new installations? Would I have to manually go in and select an installation folder on my HDD? Or is there a way to define the default drive for new installations.

3) Will all the software on the HDD - simply put - work? Will it bottleneck at all due to it perhaps needing to access files on the SSD? Will it simply fail because it's on a separate storage medium?

4) 64bit Windows 7 has two separate folders for 32bit and 64bit programs ("C:\Program Files" and "C:\Program Files(x86)"). Is this something I have to take into account when installing programs on the HDD? Or can I install all of them in the same folder.

5) I'm pretty sure I know how to link user's "My Documents" and "My Music" etc. to a separate drive. However is there a way to automatically make the whole "Users" folder default to the HDD? So that if a new user is created I don't have to go through the hassle of typing in all of the directories for each folder etc.