1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Looking for a free domain to practice with scripts, php, mySQL

Discussion in 'Software' started by khelza, 3 Feb 2015.

1. khelza

khelza What's a Dremel?

I am pretty new at this stuff, but have created a database in mySQL with multiple linking tables. I am trying to learn how to create forms on a website, in which the data will be sent from the forms to a database.

I am hoping to find a webhost that provides:
    - free domain (even if it's an extension)
    - web editor
    - script, php abilities
    - free database

Even if there are no completely free sites out there, if there is a site that provides those capabilities in a free trial, I would be interested in checking it out. I am just trying to learn scripting and tying it all together with a temporary database.

Hoping I'm heading in the right direction.. :worried:

2. dynamis_dk

dynamis_dk Grr... Grumpy!!

Why not look to host it locally on your own machine?

Granted you don't get the domain but is that a requirement as such for practice?

Something like this: http://www.wampserver.com/en/

3. khelza

khelza What's a Dremel?

I'm trying to create a database that can be queried from any computer, by any user in the group.

They should have the ability to add a new entry, modify or delete and existing entry, or search by keyword within entries

I don't think we want to database to reside in any one person's computer. An online server would satisfy that, no?

4. Votick

Votick My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.

Drop me a PM I can hook you up.

5. notmeagain

notmeagain Minimodder

failing that - dyndns, port forwarding and a LAMP stack on a Virtual box.
    Job's a good'n.

This is my prototyping environment and it's worked great.

6. Margo Baggins

Margo Baggins I'm good at Soldering Super Moderator