1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Small NAS build [solved]

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Pliqu3011, 16 Apr 2014.

1. Pliqu3011

Pliqu3011 all flowers in time bend towards the sun

Was planning to build a small NAS and run FreeNAS.
    This is what I've come up with:

ASRock E350M1
    - € 59,94
    Corsair Value Select 1x4GB - € 35,99
    WD Red 2TB (WD20EFRX) - € 86,99
    Fractal Design Node 304 - € 63,98
    Seasonic G-360 - € 57,95

And for the OS:
    Kingston DataTraveler SE9 - € 6,10 (because it was the cheapest 8GB USB I could find)

As this is just an entry-level NAS I'd like to stay around €300 and have the power consumption as low as possible.

I also saw the Biostar NM70I-1037U for €10 more than the ASRock, and it seems it's a bit more powerful. Would that be a better choice?

I have no experience whatsoever with NASes, but I know some of you do, so tell me if I've forgotten something or chose something stupid.

--

Also, because I can't fit 8GB ECC RAM (and a compatible CPU/mobo) in this budget I figured I'd better use UFS instead of ZFS formatting. Is this correct?

Last edited: 3 May 2014
  2. deathtaker27

deathtaker27 Modder

What about a backup for the nas?

3. Pliqu3011

Good question. While I agree that safety certainly is important, I think an external backup disk or a RAID configuration will be a later addition. I wouldn't really know what to sacrifice in this build to make room for it in my budget.
    I plan on keeping the most important stuff on my own PC, the NAS, Dropbox and Skydrive anyway, so I don't think it's that urgent.

4. deathtaker27

deathtaker27 Modder

Just so you are aware: RAID is not a backup.

As long as your happy without to start.
    Everything else looks good tbh.

5. IvanIvanovich

IvanIvanovich будет глотать вашу душу.