1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linux Setting up VNC

Discussion in 'Software' started by timmehtimmeh, 19 Apr 2014.

1. timmehtimmeh

timmehtimmeh Minimodder

Hi I am a complete Linux noob, just following this tutorial:

http://www.havetheknowhow.com/Configure-the-server.html

When it works fine, I can follow it but when it fails - I dont know what to do. I finally got "TightVNC" working under Windows 8 but am having some issue in that all I can see on my virtual desktop of the Linux box is a grey box with nothing in it.

I did follow the guide as best I could but cant seem to see where I have gone wrong.

I am trying to setup a home server for file serving and some other bits.

Stuck :(

2. deathtaker27

deathtaker27 Modder

if your going from a windows box look up xrdp

remote desktop for linux, i use it everywhere and prefer it

3. timmehtimmeh

timmehtimmeh Minimodder

ok ill have a read up on that then. All the guides I find assume you have a GUI on the server already in which to interact- it only has a CLI though. I have no idea how to enable the start x thing. I would actually like to learn the commands as I go though.

4. deathtaker27

deathtaker27 Modder

If your running CLI only setup SSH onto the server. VNC and XRDP only work if x-server running.

5. timmehtimmeh

timmehtimmeh Minimodder

hi again, Its Ubuntu Server 14.04 LTS. I have installed gnome and SSH and can now SSH in to it. I couldn't for the life of me fix what was wrong with VNC.

I will try with XRDP, do you know of a good tutorial to follow to get it working?

Iain

6. faugusztin

faugusztin I *am* the guy with two left hands

Are you trying to VNC against a Gnome or Unity desktop ? If yes, then bad luck, Gnome doesn't really work through VNC for some time. Try XFCE.

7. Flibblebot

Flibblebot Smile with me