1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Legal advice wanted

Discussion in 'Serious' started by iancowell, 6 Jun 2016.

1. iancowell

iancowell Minimodder

Having a problem regarding someone's stuff that is at mine and what I am legally allowed to do in regards of getting it out of the house when they are refusing to collect it.

Hopefully someone can help.

If easier pm me and I can give you my number or ring you if you can help

Thank you so much

Ian

2. Arboreal

Arboreal Keeper of the Electric Currants

Not sure whether this is relevant. If your situation is related to goods left by a tenant, there are well established legal principles.

Something like this document may be of use here.

That was a decent looking result from a quick search about the subject

Although I am not a lawyer; I work in commercial property, and we have specific clauses in the leases to deal with this situation.

As mentioned, you have to assess whether it has been abandoned, and then there is the tension between disposal (and potentially recovering losses in rent etc.) and the Torts (Interference of Goods) parts.

In theory, you cold be liable for compensating someone for a load of rubbish they have left, if they can prove value and you cannot prove that you have been though the proper processes

HTH

3. iancowell

iancowell Minimodder