1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress Xbox 360 Elite Black Case Fan and Temperature Probe Mod [Complete]

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by geebles, 6 Jun 2011.

1. geebles

geebles Own's a Dremel

Hi, I’m a new member so go easy :) I’m a student and have very little money so everything I do is with the minimal of tools! Anyway, I know you guys love original computer case mods, but I’ve done something slightly different and significantly improved the cooling on my Xbox WITHOUT making it look terrible (like the many many that I have seen on the internet)

The Plan
    To improve Xbox 360 cooling to prevent overheating, without changing the exterior of the console dramatically. That’s about it really; I’m going to be adding an extra fan to improve cooling a lot, and also some thermometers to monitor the temperature.

Tools and Items
    - Screwdrivers, Pin, other case opening tools
    - Drill, rotary cutting bit, sandpaper
    - 70x70x15mm Fan
    - Soldering iron

Construction

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

To open the console, I used this guide: http://www.llamma.com/xbox360/repair/Xbox-360-Disassembly.htm
    You don’t need the case opening tool, simply use a pin, it’s very easy to do and it’s all about gentle pressure.

Inside my Xbox, I have the original GPU heatsink, which I plan to swap for the new and improved heat pipe one, and the Elite CPU heatsink. The newer CPU heatsink is larger and made out of all aluminium so should offer good cooling; however it might get in the way of my fan.

[​IMG]

This is where I wish to location my fan. On another Xbox I put a 40mm fan here, but it was so weedy and pushed through so little air I wanted something better.