1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Watercooling First leak test

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by wodgah, 12 Feb 2012.

1. wodgah

wodgah What's a Dremel?

As i am totally new to watercooling i thought i would try and keep short vids of my process, starting with my leak test.

This way anyone who knows more than me (most people!!) could chip in and help if my making any errors!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XX39MtzpxLY&feature=youtu.be

Just the first leak test ATM.

2. AoE

AoE What's a Dremel?

Im a newbie in watercooling looking into my first custom loop and cant see anything wrong with your l/test

3. wodgah

wodgah What's a Dremel?

Thanks , ill leave it running a while and keep trying to get those air bubbles out.

4. PocketDemon

PocketDemon Modder

Generally looks fine...

But you're going to need to rotate both the cpu block & gfx card (& any other blocks if you had them) to ensure you've removed the air from them... ...these can be done fairly early on within the standard 24 hour testing as, from my experience, once they're air free they don't regain air bubbles from the loop.

[this is the reason why i buy plexi tops as it's then really obvious whether it's been done successfully]

& then, you'll need to be able to rotate either the whole case around every axis (ensuring that the outlet from the res doesn't run dry) or the rad (which is by far the easier way) over the first 24hrs to remove the air from that... ...& then subsequently after about a week.

[this is a why i now use external rads as it's much simpler to just rotate that - taking the 24 hours of initial air removing down to less than 12... ...the main reason though is that mounting the same rad & fans externally gives much better temps]

5. .//TuNdRa

.//TuNdRa Resident Bulldozer Guru